Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: Advice Please

Laser Warning Advice Please

Hello every one
    I would like some advice as I'm new to lasers and professional laser specs. Im struggling to get a decent white beam from my lasers. Instead of a nice white I'm getting more of a magenta / white, almost like the RED is over powering the full RGB mix.

I'm using quickshow and i do understand the colour settings etc so I'm wondering if the spec on the laser is wrong for a decent white beam. I would of thought 2.5W would produce some pretty spot on colours with the graphics and beam shows quckshow offers.

The laser is analog and this is the spec

LKH Pure Diode 2300RGB 2.3 Watt Pure Diode
    Beam Power:
    RED: 650nm 200mW + 638nm 180mW
    GREEN: 520nm 120 mW
    BLUE: 445nm 1800mW
    Beam Spec: 5.6mm <2mrad
    Laser Class: 4
    Scanner Speed: 20kpps (40Kpps@4˚), 40˚ for scan angle Max

Any advice on unit adjustment is welcome

Thanks in advance

Alex

Based on the numbers you listed, you have way too much blue for a good white balance. You only need about 300 mw of blue at maximum, based on the amount of red and green you have. You've got 6 times that amount. This is rather common with lower-end projectors, as blue is cheap and having lots of it allows a company to advertise the projector as a 2 + watt unit when really it's only ~800 mw when producing balanced white.

However, you said that the white looks red-heavy to you. This doesn't makes sense based on the power levels you listed, unless the red beam diameter is significantly larger than the green and blue, in which case having a red "halo" around everything will tend to make it look more red-heavy even when it's really not.

Post some pictures of the projector drawing a simple white shape on the wall (circle or square or something).

Adam

Adam

Thank you for taking time to reply to my questions.