Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Noobie advice

Default Noobie advice

Hey guys.

I've just started researching lasers and opened up a whole can of worms apparently. As a hobbyist I am interested in getting an RGB laser for home and small party use, and ofcourse don't want to spend too much (initially at least).
    I was looking at these:

http://excelighting.com/affichage_pr...=233&idcat=100
    https://www.laserworld.com/shop/lase...d-es-400rgb-qs

Does anyone know if they are any good for the price? Only one has ILDA mode. Wondering how they compare otherwise?

Thanks for any advice / suggestions you might be able to offer.

Justin
    Last edited by junglejuz; 05-01-2017 at 22:08.

Hi Justin,

We get these types of requests frequently here, so there are many recent thread with advice for an initial laser purchase. I would highly suggest reading a few of those threads, but the bottom line usually ends up being safety advice to protect yourself and others as well as specific recommendations for companies / lasers that are of higher quality.

Both of the units you linked are very cheap entry level lasers and likely to be a disappointment, although we don't know you specifically want to do with it (graphics, beams, ILDA show playback, etc.). It would also be useful if you added your location to your profile so people can point you to the best vendors / people in your area.

-David
    "Help, help, I'm being repressed!"

Hi David,

Thanks for taking the time to reply. I am in Melbourne, Australia. I understand you must get a lot of these kinds of posts. I have been looking for some kind of FAQ for beginners or sticky thread but haven't had much luck.