Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Controlling a Lasos PSU?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    88

    Default Controlling a Lasos PSU?

    Greetings from So. Cal. again,I have a Lasos LGN 7872-02F power supply,and an S.P. 163-A1202 Argon head. They do have mate together(cable-wise) and I was told they should be compatible,TY Steve.
    The question is that the pinout from Lasos shows no way of controlling the head,only monitoring it,other than setting it to current/light control,run/idle,interlock,etc.

    The DB-25 remote interface port has similar pinout to my Uniphase argon,however I see no specific means to adjust the output,as is possible with the Uniphase.

    Maybe I'm missing it in the translation from German?
    I have the pdf of the manual but don't know how to link to it,so if anyone can shed some light?

    Thanks in advance,
    Mike

  2. #2
    mixedgas's Avatar
    mixedgas is offline Creaky Old Award Winning Bastard Technologist
    Infinitus Excellentia Ion Laser Dominatus
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    A lab with some dripping water on the floor.
    Posts
    9,437

    Default

    Maybe I'm missing it in the translation from German?
    I have the pdf of the manual but don't know how to link to it,so if anyone can shed some light?

    Thanks in advance,
    Mike[/QUOTE]

    Can you put the manual PDF where I can find it, I will tell you uniphase is most likely not the same as lasos/SP.

    Steve
    Qui habet Christos, habet Vitam!
    I should have rented the space under my name for advertising.
    When I still could have...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    88

    Default

    Hi Steve,will these help?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails N7812.pdf  


  4. #4
    mixedgas's Avatar
    mixedgas is offline Creaky Old Award Winning Bastard Technologist
    Infinitus Excellentia Ion Laser Dominatus
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    A lab with some dripping water on the floor.
    Posts
    9,437

    Default

    Its there, In English, as well, so far what I can see:

    it has internal pullups to generate logical highs on the control inputs. So if you want a logic one you leave a signal floating, if you want a logic zero, you tie the signal to "return" Logical high in this case means +15 volts (OPEN COLLECTOR OR RELAY LOGIC IN THE MACHINE THAT USES THE LASER)

    interlock, short pin 1 to pin 3, must be shorted before powering on.

    Pin 2 , "soft" shutdown, float for laser on, ground to "return" for laser off, fast

    pin 4, float for remote control, ground to "return" force standby

    pin 5, ground to "return" for current mode, open circuit = light mode

    pin 6 current control input, .1V per amp,

    pin 7 Light control input, .1 V per milliwatt

    pin 8, optical power out, 10 millivolts per mW

    pin 9 , current monitor, .1 volt per amp, output

    pin 13, +15V out ( use to make control voltages) 20 mA max.

    14, 20,21,22, control signal " return" (signal ground, probably floats from case ground)

    23 ground to return to turn off laser, float it for turn on in 30 seconds.
    shuts down cathode heat (hard shutdown)

    lasosrmt.bmp

    My circuit will cram all the control on one end of the potentiometer, as you learn what voltages you need, you can increase the value of the 1K resistor to use more of your potentiometer range. This is because I do not know which potentiometer "taper" and "value" you will be ordering. However you should be able to get all the parts on the diagram at a decent radio shack. The 5V zener and 1K resistor is there so you do not pull a 0 to 2.5V control input all the way to 15 volts. 5V wont hurt it.

    Steve
    Last edited by mixedgas; 08-14-2010 at 07:23.
    Qui habet Christos, habet Vitam!
    I should have rented the space under my name for advertising.
    When I still could have...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    88

    Default

    Thank you Steve,much appreciated,,,next question is the SP 163-A1202 head I have has the ignitor/start module inside and is on pins 6,7,the 7872 psu has a trigger on pin 12,yet the head does not use 12.According to the docs Lasos and Laserdrive sent me,6,7 are + anode voltage. How is the trigger sent to the head?
    Mike

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    88

    Default

    This may help,the psu is a 7872,not the 7812 I thought it was!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    88

    Default

    Here they are!
    If they came thru.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails N7872-02F.pdf  

    Attached Files Attached Files

  8. #8
    mixedgas's Avatar
    mixedgas is offline Creaky Old Award Winning Bastard Technologist
    Infinitus Excellentia Ion Laser Dominatus
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    A lab with some dripping water on the floor.
    Posts
    9,437

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by HD58PHD View Post
    Here they are!
    If they came thru.

    Almost all heads less then 300 mW autotrigger. The circuit works like this: If the tube voltage is less then 100 volts, stop firing the ignitor. If Tube voltage greater then 100 volts, charge and fire the ignitor. The tube, when lit, acts like a big zener diode and clamps the anode voltage to less then 110 VDC for any tube that runs off a 110V line and most of the tubes that run off a 220V line. It will take me a day or two to get the German translation done of your new document. I took French, because Julie had beautiful blue eyes, Julie took French, therefore Steve took French. Also the Spanish teacher scared the hell out of me. French, was one of my bigger mistakes. So it takes me a while to plod thru the German the hard way, and Google translate, as good as it is, misses some details in technic German.

    Steve
    Last edited by mixedgas; 08-27-2010 at 14:44.
    Qui habet Christos, habet Vitam!
    I should have rented the space under my name for advertising.
    When I still could have...

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    88

    Default

    Ok,update and more questions,I've made the control with interlock,potand resistor,and flip power switch on the 7872 to on-key switch off,,,fans come on,interlock and power led's come on,and filament soon starts glowing. Turn keyswitch to on and wait,and wait,no tick noise.
    The head is an SP163-A1202,
    What and where to check??
    Thanks
    Mike

  10. #10
    mixedgas's Avatar
    mixedgas is offline Creaky Old Award Winning Bastard Technologist
    Infinitus Excellentia Ion Laser Dominatus
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    A lab with some dripping water on the floor.
    Posts
    9,437

    Default

    Disable the internal ignitor in the head if you value your voltmeter, See if there is 160 or so VDC or more across the tube. Can be as much as 300 VDC.

    If VDC there and there is a ignitor board look for a blown unijunction. If a potted module, well, ahem, need to sub a different module. Some of the newer ones are simply common streetlight ignitors.

    If NO VDC, check interlock wiring, or check PSU.

    I'll look at what you posted soon, trying to survive a bit, and not having time to lurk on PL.

    Where are you located?

    Steve
    Qui habet Christos, habet Vitam!
    I should have rented the space under my name for advertising.
    When I still could have...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •