Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Scanners making noises that changes with different colours????

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    South Lincs, UK
    Posts
    2,620

    Default Scanners making noises that changes with different colours????

    I am running QS v2.0 Build-2 and DT40Pro scanners.

    When I select a white Cue my scanners are making a 'buzzing' noise and then if I go to the 'colour' slider in QS and move it through to show/change to different colours the noise from the scanners changes and is at it's loudest whilst displaying Green There is no noise at all while displaying Red or blue but only noise when the green laser is having to work.

    Can anyone shed any light on what is going on here? Is this normal?

    How can the green laser operating cause noise from my scanners?
    --------------------
    My Brain urt's!

    Continuously in Awe! of (H)Al, the Photonlexicon Font of Complete Knowledge - The (H)Al'PL Database of complete puss that no one needs to know or ever trusts as he ain't really got a Scooby doo about now't!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    3,694

    Default

    Hmm, hearing colours! Have you been getting onto the acid Jim
    KVANT Australian projector sales
    https://www.facebook.com/kvantaus/

    Lasershowparts- Laser Parts at great prices
    https://www.facebook.com/lasershowparts/

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    London or Spain depending on the weather
    Posts
    1,381

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by smogthemog View Post
    How can the green laser operating cause noise from my scanners?
    PSU drain perhaps? what buffering do you have ?

    Cheers

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    964

    Default

    Must be the difference of impulse of the photons hitting your mirrors

    Or you're having a ground loop sort of electrical issue.

    What happens with the sound when you disconnect the modulation input on your green?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    London or Spain depending on the weather
    Posts
    1,381

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Zoof View Post
    Must be the difference of impulse of the photons hitting your mirrors
    What happens with the sound when you disconnect the modulation input on your green?

    I bet he gets Beethovens 5th...... LOL

    Cheers

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    177

    Default

    Maybe QS adds extra points to compensate the poor modulation of green (dpss) modules. Most advanced stuff is hidden to keep the program easy.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Brooklyn NYC
    Posts
    820

    Default

    i noticed something similar the other day when i was changing scanners

    i had a qm2000 show running with no scanners installed and i was hearing what sounded like scanner noise but i had no scanners installed yet

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    London or Spain depending on the weather
    Posts
    1,381

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by VJ AIWAZ View Post
    i noticed something similar the other day when i was changing scanners
    i had a qm2000 show running with no scanners installed and i was hearing what sounded like scanner noise but i had no scanners installed yet
    Now THAT is remarkable ! I wonder what was moving the air.

    Cheers

  9. #9
    mixedgas's Avatar
    mixedgas is offline Creaky Old Award Winning Bastard Technologist
    Infinitus Excellentia Ion Laser Dominatus
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    A lab with some dripping water on the floor.
    Posts
    9,186

    Default

    Not 100% sure, but when using Quickshow's "vector" mode graphics, forget 100% of what you used to know about how systems operate. Your probably listening to the system changing its scanning to keep constant, even luminance.

    Which could be a royal pain in the arse when configuring new hardware.

    Does BB not attend UK LEMs and explain all this to you?

    Steve
    Qui habet Christos, habet Vitam!
    I should have rented the space under my name for advertising.
    When I still could have...

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    London or Spain depending on the weather
    Posts
    1,381

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mixedgas View Post
    Does BB not attend UK LEMs and explain all this to you?Steve
    If he does...... I might make it there after all !

    Cheers!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •