Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: FlexMod - LOAD

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Wilson, Wisconsin
    Posts
    133

    Cool FlexMod - LOAD

    Hi Again, I just got in my FlexMod's in and want to build a test JIG. I know I can use a diode. but what other sources can I use to make it think it is a diode on the end for testing and easy setup? Trying to make it E-A-S-Y. What have you done to make it easy? Any help would be great. Thanks Guys, John
    Last edited by santanas; 10-13-2010 at 08:20.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    London or Spain depending on the weather
    Posts
    1,381

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by santanas View Post
    Hi Again, I just got in my FlexMod's in and want to build a test GIG. I know I can use a diode. but what other sources can I use to make it think it is a diode on the end for testing and easy setup? Trying to make it E-A-S-Y. What have you done to make it easy? Any help would be great. Thanks Guys, John
    What's wrong with diodes ?
    They are cheap, readily available, have a silver stripe at one end and their voltage drops are easy to measure on a DMM so you know how many to put in series to match your proposed LD voltage.
    You can't get much easier than that !

    Or maybe I am misunderstanding the question.

    Cheers

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Wilson, Wisconsin
    Posts
    133

    Default

    Just thought I would open other Ideas besides blowing up 405's I found the 445nm to me more complient and can take a screwup. Not that any one has blown up any diodes and yes diodes are getting cheaper and not 6 feet long laser boxes needed Thanks JH
    Last edited by santanas; 10-13-2010 at 08:22.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Cairns, Australia
    Posts
    1,896

    Default

    Just in case you missed it, he was referring to zener diodes

    You can put about 3 or 4 in series to simulate 405 and 445nm diodes, and I think its 2 or 3 for a IR or red diode.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    London or Spain depending on the weather
    Posts
    1,381

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Things View Post
    Just in case you missed it, he was referring to zener diodes

    You can put about 3 or 4 in series to simulate 405 and 445nm diodes, and I think its 2 or 3 for a IR or red diode.

    Oops! thanks Things

    Should get some sleep soon I think.... this morning I have made three or four blunders

    Cheers

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    London or Spain depending on the weather
    Posts
    1,381

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by santanas View Post
    Just thought I would open other Ideas besides blowing up 405's I found the 445nm to me more complient and can take a srewup. Not that any one has blown up any diodes and yes diodes are getting cheaper and not 6 feet long Thanks JH
    I know I need sleep .... but what on earth are you driving with a Fleximod that is 6ft long ???

    Ahaa ! Fleximods.....Flexmods ... you are testing beam adjustors ?

    Cheers
    Last edited by catalanjo; 10-12-2010 at 04:47. Reason: Lack of sleep... duhhh!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    nerdtown, USA
    Posts
    1,165

    Default

    Flexmods are current sources. You can just use a resistor, or short them with a test meter. That's what I do. The voltage drop isn't relevant to their regulation as long as you're supplying enough volts on the input rail.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    veenwouden
    Posts
    2,542

    Default

    If you want you can use a test load like this:

    http://stonetek.org/shop/index.php?m...roducts_id=223


    Is that what your looking for

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Maine, US
    Posts
    177

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by heroic View Post
    Flexmods are current sources. You can just use a resistor, or short them with a test meter. That's what I do. The voltage drop isn't relevant to their regulation as long as you're supplying enough volts on the input rail.
    I have been using the same method (not using a load) and it's worked fine for testing my flexmods so far...

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    London UK
    Posts
    224

    Default

    1 ohm resistor across the output is what I use to measure my output before hooking up the Laser Diode.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •