Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: HELP I need a SP 2670!

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6

    Unhappy HELP I need a SP 2670!

    I own aspectra physics 2016 stabilite with 3 x 2550 power suplies but i missed the remote controller 2670 !!!
    Anybody have a solution?


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    west sussex uk
    Posts
    2,279

    Default what !

    Quote Originally Posted by vbo View Post
    I own aspectra physics 2016 stabilite with 3 x 2550 power suplies but i missed the remote controller 2670 !!!
    Anybody have a solution?

    hi welcome to the forum
    normaly the done thing here is to introduce yourself first
    if you just pile in with a question there is a good chance you might get ignored
    wellcome to the pl family

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6

    Default apologies

    OK, sorry!
    I live in France, i am Engineer expert in Hydraulic turbo machines (Kaplan, Franšis, Pelton)
    I am crazy about sciences and particularly hydraulics and astronomy (I own a meade 14")
    My home is like a laboratory and my dream would be to send a laser pulse on the moon an get a few photons back with my telescope...
    But for this i would need more than 6w!!!
    So thanks for your response in advance (and for the very bad picture of France actualy on the news...)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Bend Oregon USA
    Posts
    3,349

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by vbo View Post
    OK, sorry!
    I live in France, i am Engineer expert in Hydraulic turbo machines (Kaplan, Franšis, Pelton)
    I am crazy about sciences and particularly hydraulics and astronomy (I own a meade 14")
    My home is like a laboratory and my dream would be to send a laser pulse on the moon an get a few photons back with my telescope...
    But for this i would need more than 6w!!!
    So thanks for your response in advance (and for the very bad picture of France actualy on the news...)
    good luck with that...you are gonna need a lot more than a "pulse" from your 6 watt argon...but hey, keep me informed
    Pat B on alt.lasers


    Visit My Site

    laserman532 on ebay
    laserman532 on LPF

    Been there, done that, got the t-shirt & selling it in a garage sale.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    263

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Laserman532 View Post
    good luck with that...you are gonna need a lot more than a "pulse" from your 6 watt argon...but hey, keep me informed
    Your kidding right? That should be plenty of power. You can use a 2.3 watts of 532 and still get results. In 1968 NASA used a 2 watt argon with great success .

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Lake Geneva, WI.
    Posts
    2,704

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ArcDevilz View Post
    Your kidding right? That should be plenty of power. You can use a 2.3 watts of 532 and still get results. In 1968 NASA used a 2 watt argon with great success .

    Ah, but that 532 is Q-switched. You couldn't penetrate the atmosphere with 2.3W of CW 532. I have never read about an ion laser being used for lunar ranging. I would love to see that article.

  7. #7
    mixedgas's Avatar
    mixedgas is offline Creaky Old Award Winning Bastard Technologist
    Infinitus Excellentia Ion Laser Dominatus
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    A lab with some dripping water on the floor.
    Posts
    9,584

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 300EVIL View Post
    Ah, but that 532 is Q-switched. You couldn't penetrate the atmosphere with 2.3W of CW 532. I have never read about an ion laser being used for lunar ranging. I would love to see that article.

    A couple of watts of argon and a 18" telescope gets you low earth orbit. Ie the Air Force facility on Maui has that and used it in published tests to illuminate the shuttle. The lunar ranger is a a pulsed yag with a oscillator/amplifier scheme and it gets 10 to 15 photons back per pulse with a 16" telescope.

    One of the issues with ranging, is time gating, they know roughly when to gate on the photomultiplier, as the signal is so small coming back that atmospheric noise swamps it.

    The argon might illuminate the moon with a fraction of a picowatt, but you will not see the return.

    Steve

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6

    Cool being blind

    you're right, gating the signal is a good solution to avoid other wrong triggers.
    The advantage i may have is that I can record datas with an OROS analyser or Sony PC216 AX and post process any datas (filtering, spectrums, transient analysis...).

    I know that the catadioptic mirrors installed by appolo mission is still working but is day after day recovered by dust.
    So i should have a few years to do the measurement before being blind...

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Bend Oregon USA
    Posts
    3,349

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ArcDevilz View Post
    Your kidding right? That should be plenty of power. You can use a 2.3 watts of 532 and still get results. In 1968 NASA used a 2 watt argon with great success .
    key word..."nasa"
    Pat B on alt.lasers


    Visit My Site

    laserman532 on ebay
    laserman532 on LPF

    Been there, done that, got the t-shirt & selling it in a garage sale.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    3,589

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mixedgas View Post
    The lunar ranger is a a pulsed yag
    you mean I can finally have a reason for owning my laserscope?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •