Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 32

Thread: Mac OS X : using Pangolin softwares?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    1,390

    Default Mac OS X : using Pangolin softwares?

    I've just acquired a Macbook Pro, on which I'd like to run my Pangolin softwares (LivePro for FB3, Quickshow, LD2000)...

    Is there a way to make them run on OS X, with Crossover or another software, or the only solution is to install Windows and bootcamp? I tried to run Quickshow with Crossover but didn't worked, and as I'm very new to the Mac OS, maybe someone else already made it?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    NorCal / Western Caribbean
    Posts
    710

    Default

    I use VM Ware Fusion with Windows XP Home installed on my macbook pro and it seems to run perfectly. I haven't had any known issues yet.

    Cheers
    Rich

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Uppsala, Sweden
    Posts
    72

    Default

    I also use a macbook pro,
    I have tried running it with vmware fusion but I got some perfomance(fps) issues with some of the cues, so i went with a clean install on bootcamp instead, works great.
    You could even make a usbstick or external ssddisk install for windows with bootcamp if you dont want do mess up your disk with mac os x on.

    Magnus

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    203

    Default

    I use Bootcamp partition and/or Parallels Desktop...the last one works great.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Nottingham, UK
    Posts
    2,793

    Default

    Parallels works ok *most* of the time. Not 100% rock solid performance.

    Bootcamp all the way (+it's free)
    - There is no such word as "can't" -
    - 60% of the time it works every time -

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Perth Western Australia
    Posts
    844

    Default

    Hi sbk,
    I use windows XP on my MacBook pro via Bootcamp.

    It works very well.

    Pangolins SMS to laser software and GSM/CDMA modem works to.

    It also works using an external monitor to, so you can have Live Pro open on your notebook and have the preview window on the external monitor.

    As you will most likely be plugged in shouldn't be a problem but I've found that XP runs the batteries down very quickly.

    If you are running on batteries I'd consider Windows 7 maybe.

    Good luck.
    Kit

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    1,390

    Default

    Thanks guys for the feedback. It seems the most reliable way is Bootcamp! I'll do so.

    Kitatit : yes Windows eats batteries faster than Mac OS, not as efficient.

    I also plan to add an external monitor, the best would even be a multi touch monitor to trigger cues! I wonder which one to choose now, as it seems the manufacturers tend to have only really big screens (Dell has a 21.5 inches, the other the same).

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Toronto, ON, CANADA
    Posts
    57

    Default small cheap touchscreens

    Quote Originally Posted by sbk View Post
    I also plan to add an external monitor, the best would even be a multi touch monitor to trigger cues! I wonder which one to choose now, as it seems the manufacturers tend to have only really big screens (Dell has a 21.5 inches, the other the same).
    You can get some nice 12 inch touch screens here for under $200 :
    http://www.chinavasion.com/search?q=...reen&Submit=GO

    or here is a place that has 15 inch higher rez ones for $145 :
    http://www.short-circuit.com/product...furbished.html

    hope that helps 8)

    -D.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    282

    Default

    Regarding the touch screens,

    I personally have a 23" acer T230H and a 15" homemade.

    But 23" is definitively better..

    In more than 1 way..

    Big timelines!!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Orlando, FL - USA
    Posts
    1,741

    Default

    Three people at Pangolin use Mac Book Pro with the latest version of Parallels (I think it is verion 6) and it runs quite nicely. Dieter allocates 3GB (out of his 4GB) to the Parallels portion and this seems to really help.
    Last edited by Pangolin; 11-06-2010 at 13:12.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •