Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: Pbs cube secrets

Lightbulb Pbs cube secrets

Hi

I haven't actually found too much info on the PBS CUBE in detail on this forum(Correct me if I'm wrong) So Id like to ask a question.

I have recently got myself 2 1Watt 650nm labbies and I see the beam being a square shape or nearly square(Elongated)
    When putting them through a Polarising PBS Cube they form a cross like this +

Anyway I went and did some more research on the Cubes and I tried searching this and it worked..."NON-Polarising PBS Cubes". Does this mean that I can mesh the beam properly And create a "REAL" luminosity from it in this kind of shape - ?

The cross is just pathetic and pretty useless as far as I'm concerned for use with a RGB setup.

Thanks I'd appreciate the info (Or a good price)
    Here is a Website http://www.crylight.com/Polarization...e-NPB-_58.html

Peace,Respect

I'm probably wrong as I have very little knowledge in this area, but I think non polarized cubes can only be used to split a beam and can not be used to combine two beams.

Quote Originally Posted by laser_freak View Post
    I'm probably wrong as I have very little knowledge in this area, but I think non polarized cubes can only be used to split a beam and can not be used to combine two beams.
    Correct, it merely reflects half of the input beam at 90, no use at all for combining beams.
    http://img62.imageshack.us/img62/3985/laser.gif

Doc's website

The Health and Safety Act 1971

Recklessly interfering with Darwins natural selection process, thereby extending the life cycle of dim-witted ignorami; thus perpetuating and magnifying the danger to us all, by enabling them to breed and walk amongst us, our children and loved ones.

so, to avoid the cross try to mount the second 650 90 degrees perpendicular to the first

this way one beam will go into the cube like " | ", the other will go into the cube like " - " and they will both come out like " | "