Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 26

Thread: Desktop PC "do over" - Win XP, or Win 7

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Knoxville, TN & Huntsville, AL, USA
    Posts
    3,121

    Default Desktop PC "do over" - Win XP, or Win 7

    After 3 years of daily use, install this, uninstall that, etc., my home-built Windows XP Pro desktop PC is indicating it's time for a fresh install. I've done this a time or two over the years, and I know I'll need to backup up everything and reinstall all my current programs "from scratch".

    My big question is which OS to use this time around, since according to the "Windows 7 Upgrade Advisor", it meets all the minimum requirements (and then some) for all versions of Windows 7. I use this PC for all my day-to-day activities, including digital music & video editing, Pangolin laser applications (QM2000 & FB3), gaming, etc. I'll need to maintain functionality for quite a few XP programs and compatible hardware.

    SO, looking for recommendations, pros / cons:

    XP Pro?
    Windows 7 Pro, 32-bit?
    Windows 7 Pro, 64-bit?

    Thanks in advance!
    RR

    Metrologic HeNe 3.3mw Modulated laser, 2 Radio Shack motors, and a broken mirror.
    1979.
    Sweet.....

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Southport, UK
    Posts
    2,746

    Default

    Win7 64 all day long
    http://img62.imageshack.us/img62/3985/laser.gif

    Doc's website

    The Health and Safety Act 1971

    Recklessly interfering with Darwinís natural selection process, thereby extending the life cycle of dim-witted ignorami; thus perpetuating and magnifying the danger to us all, by enabling them to breed and walk amongst us, our children and loved ones.





  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Seattle, Wa
    Posts
    413

    Default

    +1. Win7 64-bit is super solid.

    M

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    280

    Default

    Buying XP today is like buying windows 95 a few years ago. And 32-bit is outdated too.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Auburn, Washington
    Posts
    824

    Default

    My vote is XP Pro 32 bit. Why reinvent the wheel when XP Pro works just fine? Plus you should get better performance from XP. Win7 is power hungry.

    Windows 7 is good for 1 thing: making Microsoft lots of $$$.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Brooklyn NYC
    Posts
    820

    Default

    xp it just works

    in my opinion win 7 is just vista re branded and we all know how long that lasted i just dont trust it yet maybe in a few years when all the software that is around works stable

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Athens, Greece
    Posts
    1,931

    Default

    i'd say win xp as well, not power hungry and tested rock solid over the years

    (if i was alone and none watched, i would definately say win2000 professional, but i don't want to sound too weird)

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    My momentum is too precisely determined :S
    Posts
    1,764

    Default

    I'm a new and happy user of Win7 x64. So far no considerable flaws, but I had some issues installing some old games. My old laptop with XP had the attitude of crashing everywhere (quite literally) I brought it, even when I did a theatrical show with my laser :-( Windows just crashed very slowly (oh, Norm's laser show doesn't work... and now my MIDI controller doesn't react... even starting up Notepad is too hard for him! And there goes Freestyler *quickly replug the DMX-cable into my other DMX controller* and there is the blue screen. Worked perfectly later at home of course).
    I don't think I'll have that issue again with this new laptop.

    XP doesn't work for me. Not anymore.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Lancashire UK
    Posts
    1,372

    Default

    this thread is on topic for me this week ..... as i have just had 5 days of win7 / Xp woes

    Depends on what applications you are running .... some aplications especially ones that do certain hardware calls wont run under the XP mode in windows 7

    i found this out this week after my nice n flashy Alienware M15x laptop turned up from DELL ... because of my work with servo motor systems i need to run a rockwell package that cost over a £1000 a year for the licence ... Prior to ordering the laptop i had checked with my Rockwell Software department about running it under Windows 7 .... they informed me that some applications might run but the main ones like RSview and factory talk would not ..... also the activations are keyed to the hardware and when running under a vertual machine they can not do certain hardware calls

    So they sugested the only option is to install XP pro on the laptop ....

    I checked with Microsft and the Win7 Licence allows you to downgrade to XP using the Win7 licence ( which then allows you to revert sometime in the future to Win 7 with no licence problems )

    Great i thought ....... WRONG

    when the laptop arived i found that the Alienware drivers which control the keyboard ... wireless .... grafix ..... DVD .... are only available from DELL in windows 7 format .... and they wont warranty the laptop if i load 3rd party drivers ( which most probably wont work anyway )

    so after a few days of being thrown around the dell call centres .... DELL Kindly agreed for me to return the Laptop for a full refund .... today i ordered a Dell Precision 4500 which after carefully talking to the techs at dell have told me that i can downgrade the operating system to XP pro and all the hardware and drivers will run under XP pro .....

    so i now have to wait 2 weeks for it to be built and delivered .... and hopefully will all be plain sailing ...

    So my advice speaking from experience is .... if you are running critical aplications for your work ... check first that they will run under Windows 7


    all the best ... Karl

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    3,580

    Default

    win 7 64bit

    3gb limit in 32bit sucks

    I run it on my desktop and it flies... although I am sure that has to do with the desktop too

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •