Thread: 1W red 560 BIG drop in power

Default 1W red 560 BIG drop in power

Hi guys.

1st of all, I'm quite new to the laser scene and I'm looking for help.

I suspect I've got a problem with 1 of my 1W red 650 diodes, the red was very bright and recently, the brightness/power of the diode has dropped quite significantly I've looked at the diode module and I've noticed that the aperture of the diode doesn't look right - there appears to be a single red line running horizontally. At 1st the diodes aperture was fully lit hence had full power. I've checked the IC board and that appears to be OK. I'm just wondering whether there's any issues with the IC board or other problem? Maybe it could do with re-tuning, if it does require a re-tuning, how is this achieved?

Sorry if these sound like lame questions, but like I said, I'm quite new to lasers and I'd be extremely grateful for any help

Thanks in advance.

Neil.

Doesn't sound good. Can you post a picture of the unit - preferably one that shows this line you're talking about?

It could be that the unit has shifted internally, and the diode is no longer aligned with the output lens. If so, that might be an easy fix. But again, pictures would help a lot.

Adam

Here is a few pictures, my camera isn't that good.

Now I dont think the alignments are wrong, I just see a red horizontal laser line in the actual diode itself, not along the mirror.

See what you think, oh and it's a CNI diode.

Thanks very much.

Neil.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Image000.jpg  

Image000_1.jpg  

Image000_2.jpg  

Image000_3.jpg  

Possibly the FAC lens has become detached?
    http://img62.imageshack.us/img62/3985/laser.gif

Doc's website

The Health and Safety Act 1971

Recklessly interfering with Darwin’s natural selection process, thereby extending the life cycle of dim-witted ignorami; thus perpetuating and magnifying the danger to us all, by enabling them to breed and walk amongst us, our children and loved ones.