Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: QS2, a touchscreen monitor and a Novation Zero SLII.......

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Winchester. Hampshire.
    Posts
    66

    Default QS2, a touchscreen monitor and a Novation Zero SLII.......

    Does anyone have any experience with this combination of hardware to control QS2. I am already using a 19" touchscreen and am contemplating the Novation Midi Controller. Is it simple to configure (map)? Does anyone have mapping they are willing to share?
    Cheers,
    Andy

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Winchester. Hampshire.
    Posts
    66

    Default

    Thanks for all your help!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Cambridge, UK
    Posts
    312

    Default

    I guess no-one is using that combo of software and hardware, hence the minimal replies! Your sarcasm was probably ill-judged. However, I am actually in pretty much the same position, I have a touchscreen lappy, QS2, and at the moment I used a Korg nanoKontrol which is a basic MIDI slider / rotary bank controller that costs less than 30. I am just about to use QS2 in anger, and seeing all the shiny stuff on the Novation does trigger the gadget craving in me; but I've resisted, because QS2 doesn't have the sort of highly parametric control system that LivePro does. There are a bunch of basic live controls - brightness, position, rotation, size, point count, speed - that can easily be mapped to the nanoKontrol without having to have a gazillion knobs. Note that in QS2 (dunno about LivePro), the live controls affect output on all projectors, they can't be messed with independently. And even if they could, I could use a second Korg for the job. So I'm not convinced the Novation is well-matched for QS2, it's overkill.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Nottingham, UK
    Posts
    2,793

    Default

    I use a 19" touchscreen and a Novation Remote Zero SL with LivePro.
    It's MEGA!

    I *can not* use anything else!

    Andy, PM me you're email address and I'll dump the template I'm using off the Novation and send it to ya

    Also throw any questions you've got this way and I'll do my best to help.
    - There is no such word as "can't" -
    - 60% of the time it works every time -

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Essex, UK
    Posts
    8,616

    Default

    agree with briggs, touch screen and novation = win
    Eat Sleep Lase Repeat


    Aluminium Optic Mounts

    http://www.laser-man.co.uk/opticmounts/

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Cambridge, UK
    Posts
    312

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by andy_con View Post
    agree with briggs, touch screen and novation = win
    Fine, but: the OP was about Quickshow 2, not LivePro.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Essex, UK
    Posts
    8,616

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by smokeAndMirrors View Post
    Fine, but: the OP was about Quickshow 2, not LivePro.
    yes and...

    using a touch screen and novation with either livepro or qs is going to be pretty similar.

    are you suggesting that using a touch screen and novation with QS is shit then?
    Eat Sleep Lase Repeat


    Aluminium Optic Mounts

    http://www.laser-man.co.uk/opticmounts/

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Cambridge, UK
    Posts
    312

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by andy_con View Post
    yes and...

    using a touch screen and novation with either livepro or qs is going to be pretty similar.

    are you suggesting that using a touch screen and novation with QS is shit then?
    I'm suggesting - having looked into the possibility myself - that the Novation might be overkill, and remain open to someone who uses that particular combo to persuade me otherwise.

    As I said: QS is nowhere near as parameteric as LP. There aren't a huge number of live controls to map, and I find that using a much simpler and cheaper MIDI controller works quite well.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Essex, UK
    Posts
    8,616

    Default

    i set a few things up with my midi and qs and all worked fine.

    even with livepro i find theres a couple of buttons not used on the novation.

    but id rather have to many than not enough.
    Eat Sleep Lase Repeat


    Aluminium Optic Mounts

    http://www.laser-man.co.uk/opticmounts/

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Cambridge, UK
    Posts
    312

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by andy_con View Post
    but id rather have to many than not enough.
    I'd rather spend 30 than 200 if I don't get 170 worth of benefit :-)

    Though the gadget monster in me might tell me otherwise

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •