Thread: Tablet PC, 445 Scanner, Giant glow screen

Default Tablet PC, 445 Scanner, Giant glow screen

Hello Everyone,
    First time poster here. I'd like to start by say how helpful PL has been for me. Thanks to you all! What I am trying to accomplish seems simple but I am not a software developer so.... What I'd like to be able to do is have some sort of simple paint program for a tablet or touch screen that would take the X-Y pen location and map it to X-Y laser scanner projection. The purpose of this is that I made a giant screen painted with glow in the dark paint that I like to draw on with my blu-ray pointer so i wanted to take it to the next level. I recently built a 1 watt 445 scanner and think it would be neat to be able to use the tablet to tell the scanner where to draw in real time. This could be extended to include various brushes and stamps etc to add jazz to your pictures. i.e. selecting a star and then being able to 'stamp' stars into your image etc. So far I figure it will have some simple paint type interface that reads if and where your pen input is and converts it to a DAC stream for the USB sound card DAC. Then for included shapes each would be a simple .ild file. The pen location would then just apply an X-Y offset based on where you touch and draw the .ild file once centered at that location. I try to think about the DAC stream in terms of sound output so in essence the paint pad would produce sound output or something? There is a nifty app for android called ethereal dialpad that does essentially this. It is a synth that produces difference tones based on where you are touching on the screen. I just need to figure out where to start or what open source projects I might be able to borrow code from.

Let me know what you guys think!

Default Laser painter medialas