Thread: 445nm diode for holography?

Default 445nm diode for holography?

Hello All!

I am new to this forum and a first-time poster. I decided to join PL because you guys seem a bit more serious about your lasers. There's plenty of other spots on the web eager to discuss 445nm diodes, but their primary focus seems to be how many balloons the unit can pop.

I'm interested in 445nm coherent light because I want ~50mW of it to be the "B" in my RGB holography setup.

I've been burning holograms at 532nm for a couple of years now, and am in the process of gearing up for a couple of super-cool upgrades - the first of which is the design and construction of robotic devices that will manage the capture and exposure of source images for multiplex holography.

The second upgrade is the move to full-color holography. My Compass 215 will soon be joined by a couple of new buddies - I need as "blue" a blue as I can get (to my eye 445nm looks great), and a nice red that I imagine will fall into He-Ne territory.

I've heard of single-beam holograms being made with the Casio 445nm diode, but lord knows that may have been sheer luck.

I'm hoping some of the knowledgeable laser folks here may be able to help me find an appropriate laser for this task.

I don't need heaps of power - 50mW will be about right to get exposure times roughly similar.

My biggest concern with a diode is mode hops. Mode hops during exposure will bone a hologram. I don't know if laser diodes are capable of single-longitudinal-mode operation, at least without costing a fortune, and I guess I could live with multimode operation, as long as those darn modes remain stable!

I'll grant you that I've been a bit spoiled by my sweet sweet Coherent laser, with its SLM operation and incredible coherence length, but I'm prepared to work with a little less if it means I can find an affordable solution to my blue dilemma.