Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22

Thread: cat5 cable question

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Essex, UK
    Posts
    8,647

    Default cat5 cable question

    When buying cat5 cable how do you know if its multi core or single core?

    i want multi core so it doesnt break as easy
    Eat Sleep Lase Repeat

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1

    Default

    It should be labeled stranded or solid.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Knutsford, UK
    Posts
    286

    Default

    I used to specify when I ordered:

    All my boxed drums are labelled UTP solid or UTP stranded with different part numbers.

    I've used many miles of both from connectix in the past http://www.connectixcablingsystems.c...il.cfm?item=72

    Although pretty much everything these days is solid core not stranded and glancing at their latest list I'm not sure they even keep stranded anymore.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    3,702

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Essex, UK
    Posts
    8,647

    Default

    so is standard multi strand/core?
    Eat Sleep Lase Repeat

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Knutsford, UK
    Posts
    286

    Default

    Andy, I would only every use solid for cat5 / cat6 in any building or install I did for lots of reasons.

    I only ever used stranded for patch leads.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Essex, UK
    Posts
    8,647

    Default

    i have some cat5 that is soild but it broke somewhere, so im not thinking multi strand
    Eat Sleep Lase Repeat

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    7,067

    Lightbulb

    Quote Originally Posted by andy_con View Post
    i have some cat5 that is soild but it broke somewhere, so im not thinking multi strand
    I used to install networking wire and it isn't easy stuff to break unless a kink or twist is severly pulled or something heavey gets slammed on it. I am sure it can happen but I doubt it would happen frequently.

    I also haven't seen stranded wire in any kind of lengths beyond patch cables like dilbert.
    Love, peace, and grease,

    allthat... aka: aaron@pangolin

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Essex, UK
    Posts
    8,647

    Default

    um ok so you cant get stranded cat5.

    oh well i best get myself an empty extension reel and try again

    wiring wise?

    normalyl i use the following -

    R + & -
    G +& -
    B + & -
    Y + & -
    X + & -

    all the RGB's can i use pin 25 G?
    Eat Sleep Lase Repeat

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Herts, UK
    Posts
    1,254

    Default

    www.comms-express.com do stranded patch cable on 305m reels or ended-up patch leads up to 50m, shielded is probably a good idea too..
    A little bit werrrr, a little bit weyyyyyy, a little bit arrrrgggghhh

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •