Page 3 of 17 FirstFirst 123456713 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 168

Thread: New 4 Channel Highside driver

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    west sussex uk
    Posts
    2,279

    Default

    question:
    how do you set up current drive on these drivers ??
    on the die4drive for example there is a monitor pin that you put a multimeter on
    to read drive current

    any way i am in for one let me know when they are ready
    When God said “Let there be light” he surely must have meant perfectly coherent light.

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    244

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by badger1666 View Post
    question:
    how do you set up current drive on these drivers ??
    Simple: Connect an Amp meter directly to the outputs. Best to do it at 5V supply as it will heat up the FETs quite a bit

    /Thomas

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    London or Spain depending on the weather
    Posts
    1,381

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Badpip View Post
    Simple: Connect an Amp meter directly to the outputs. Best to do it at 5V supply as it will heat up the FETs quite a bit /Thomas
    Hey T.... wouldn´t it be better to use a heatable dummy load, to avoid the FET heatup and convert the measurement to a voltage?

    Cheers

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    244

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by catalanjo View Post
    Hey T.... wouldn´t it be better to use a heatable dummy load, to avoid the FET heatup and convert the measurement to a voltage?

    Cheers
    Sure, a dummy load would be nicer to the FETs, but it is less accurate. As the dummy load heats up, the resistance (and therefore the voltage) will change.

    An Amp-meter in series with a dummy load would avoid this though.

    /Thomas

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    London or Spain depending on the weather
    Posts
    1,381

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Badpip View Post
    Sure, a dummy load would be nicer to the FETs, but it is less accurate. As the dummy load heats up, the resistance (and therefore the voltage) will change./Thomas
    Aha! .... I knew there was a good reason to include a TECdriver on the board ..LOL..
    Cheers

  6. #26
    Bradfo69's Avatar
    Bradfo69 is online now Pending BST Forum Purchases: $47,127,283.53
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Wilmington, DE
    Posts
    5,965

    Default

    I, too, am in for one of these when ready. I have one of Edison's red modules on the way and he said this will be the best driver for that particular module.

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    244

    Default

    UPDATE:

    The PCBs has FINALLY left customs, and will be delivered to me Monday!

    /Thomas

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Eindhoven, The Netherlands
    Posts
    921

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mccarrot View Post
    The driver I use (also with blue beam, supression) made by a very skilled member of this forum uses a onboard SMPS to set power to the driver just above the Vop of the diode to get a very efficient driver.
    Hm, that smells like a class H audio amplifier. Efficient yet lightweight. Me like.

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    franklin TN
    Posts
    61

    Default

    this is probably a stupid question, but could i power 2 lpcs and a 445 and not use the last channel or even just two diodes?

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    244

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bennett326 View Post
    this is probably a stupid question, but could i power 2 lpcs and a 445 and not use the last channel or even just two diodes?
    Sure, you can use as many (or as few) channels you want

    /Thomas

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •