Page 1 of 7 12345 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 68

Thread: +/- 24volts for galvos

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Athens, Greece
    Posts
    1,931

    Default +/- 24volts for galvos

    ok, silly question coming up.

    anyone got a suggestion for a "beefy" psu one could use instead of the cheap and not powerfull smps that comes as standard issue with most cheap scanners (the classic +/-24v - 1amp)

    could i use two 24v power supplies? is there another trick?

    thanks!
    "its called character briggs..."

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Knutsford, UK
    Posts
    286

    Default

    I use 2 x 24 6A supplies in mine to power pretty much everything - scanners, interfaces, cooling etc Just link one + & - out for the common 0v then use the + for +24v & the - for -24v

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    244

    Default

    As dilbert said, two 24V supplies in series is the way to go.

    If size and weight is not an issue, a good ol' linear psu would be great as well

    /Thomas

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Athens, Greece
    Posts
    1,931

    Default

    that was quick!!

    thanks guys
    "its called character briggs..."

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Churchill(hour S from Houston)
    Posts
    1,348

    Default

    Can this be handled with just one if it were a better 24V? I will post PIC of mine later.
    its a fan Cooled lambda nv-power nv=350
    has 15v @16A- 24V @8A -15V @10A. and 5v @10A.

    ANY OPINON?
    thnx hak

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    1,106

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hakzaw1 View Post
    Can this be handled with just one if it were a better 24V? I will post PIC of mine later.
    its a fan Cooled lambda nv-power nv=350
    has 15v @16A- 24V @8A -15V @10A. and 5v @10A.

    ANY OPINON?
    thnx hak
    Hmm, + and - rails from a single PSU? Not without an isolated DC/DC convertor (which is like another PSU anyway).

    ...unless any more electron-cogniscent folks can enlighten us.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Knutsford, UK
    Posts
    286

    Default

    Nice supply but no - its not suitable with just 1 x 24V rail - you could use a pair of these for entire projector as overkill if you have space.

    Quote Originally Posted by hakzaw1 View Post
    Can this be handled with just one if it were a better 24V? I will post PIC of mine later.
    its a fan Cooled lambda nv-power nv=350
    has 15v @16A- 24V @8A -15V @10A. and 5v @10A.

    ANY OPINON?
    thnx hak

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    3,589

    Default

    I use +/-24vdc Power One linear supplies... they work great

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Berlin
    Posts
    10

    Default

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Projektor Elektronik.jpg 
Views:	105 
Size:	488.5 KB 
ID:	27485

    This is my solution. First I use a ring core transformator 2x18V AC, two peaces of Graetz Bridge and 2x20.000F. Now I have 2x24V DC with enough current reserve. 2 step I use some power DC DC converter. 5V/30A and 4 peaces adjustable voltage from 9V-12 up to 8A for my TEC driver.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Elektronik01.jpg  

    do you see the light? It`s my laser. . . .

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Churchill(hour S from Houston)
    Posts
    1,348

    Default

    Thanks for all the posts and my apoligy to the OP- not meaning to threadjack you.
    But while you had all these great 'helpers' I wanted to learn more and thereby waste less time and money.

    maybe this;
    its a fan Cooled lambda nv-power nv=350
    has 15v @16A- 24V @8A -15V @10A. and 5v @10A.

    Should have been wriiten like this..

    its a fan cooled Lambda NV-power NV-350
    has 15v @16A, 24V @8A, 15V @10A. and 5v @10A.

    I do have lot of room on my 13 lb 12"X24" finned bottom base plate(thnx Mike for the great deal$40) also all three of my labbies have a small footprint.

    I have a few other regulated PSs that I could use. But buying another is not an affordable option right now.


    sorry for all my noobish questions. I use search all I can.


    thanks for all the advice


    len

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •