Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Combining modulation lines

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Grand Rapids, Mi
    Posts
    2,508

    Default Combining modulation lines

    What is the proper way to combine modulation line? I have some content that is RGBV I would like to tie the BV together as there is some V stuff active when no RGB is. Was thinking just using a blocking diode but that would also drop the voltages?

    How could I do this so that BV both modulate my blue.

    Thanks

    john
    leading in trailing technology

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Maine, US
    Posts
    177

    Default

    What is wrong with just tying them together without any extra diodes? I ask because I am about to do something similar.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    7,067

    Default

    If you have content that uses 4 color channels you need 4 lasers and you need to separate modulation lines not combine them... Or do you just want to have your blue run on the content that is violet only?
    Love, peace, and grease,

    allthat... aka: aaron@pangolin

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    244

    Default

    The best way would be to do it in software.

    If this is out of the question, diodes could be the way to go.

    Use schottky diodes with the lowest Vdrop you can get your hands on. Depending on the driver you might need a pull down resistor after the diodes.

    Adjust the drivers to compensate for the lower input voltage, and set the minimum output a little higher in your software.

    /Thomas

  5. #5
    mixedgas's Avatar
    mixedgas is online now Creaky Old Award Winning Bastard Technologist
    Infinitus Excellentia Ion Laser Dominatus
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    A lab with some dripping water on the floor.
    Posts
    9,673

    Default

    Are you trying to combine output lines from a DAC or input lines on diode drivers?

    There is a electrical issue with the first, and normally no issue with the second, unless they are POOR QUALITY TTL inputs from a certain Asian marketplace.

    One does not normally wish to short dac output lines together, its bad for some if not all dacs. It can easily destroy the RGB outputs on the cards.10055

    Steve

  6. #6
    mixedgas's Avatar
    mixedgas is online now Creaky Old Award Winning Bastard Technologist
    Infinitus Excellentia Ion Laser Dominatus
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    A lab with some dripping water on the floor.
    Posts
    9,673

    Default

    In your case Polishedball, your trained well enough to build a active, lossless, rectifier circuit using opamps.

    Steve

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Grand Rapids, Mi
    Posts
    2,508

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mixedgas View Post
    In your case Polishedball, your trained well enough to build a active, lossless, rectifier circuit using opamps.

    Steve
    Yes was just hoping for a easy dirty way out I'll just toss it through a 741 after impedance match. Though I am thinking of adding another blue so then i'll just have to jumper for the opp scenario.

    This would be 4 channels from a DAC, not possible in software as the DAC is an HD24.

    John
    leading in trailing technology

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    244

    Default

    Ah, didn't realize you had experience with opamps

    Do you have differetial inputs on the projector?

    If not, this is a good opportunity to add it while you are at it

    /Thomas

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    7,067

    Default

    Can you run it through a QM and then do it in software?

  10. #10
    mixedgas's Avatar
    mixedgas is online now Creaky Old Award Winning Bastard Technologist
    Infinitus Excellentia Ion Laser Dominatus
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    A lab with some dripping water on the floor.
    Posts
    9,673

    Default

    Experimental should average not sum. R should be 600-1000 ohms or so for a ADAT. Gain of non-inverting opamp must be equal to number of inputs.

    Steve
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails AVERAGERanalogRGB.bmp  

    Last edited by mixedgas; 10-23-2011 at 14:43.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •