Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Strange thing when using FB3-SE...

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Once it was called "Bel Paese" = ITALY
    Posts
    858

    Default Strange thing when using FB3-SE...

    Hi all guyz.

    Recently I refurbished an old RGY projector, putting inside a blue module. Chars of modules:
    - Green: Century Laser, 532nm/120mW TTL
    - Red: CNI, 650nm/450mW TTL
    - Blue: Laserwave, 473nm/250mW Analogue.

    Whatever figure I try to play by FB3-SE device, it comes out.....as a vertical line only.
    It seems as X scanner is not working.
    So I tried to play the same figure with my other device: FB3-QS and.... Holy cow!!!!! Everything works fine!!!!

    This is very strange: my TTL/analogue projector does not want to work by FB3-SE device, instead it works perfectly by FB3-QS.
    I also tried to change projector's setting (scanspeed, colors, modulation, etc. etc....) without any success.

    Attachments here...
    left picture: the "strange" line coming out when played by FB3-SE
    right picture: the same figure instead correctly played by FB3-QS (please don't take a care about picture entirety, it appears not complete because shoot speed of my camera...)

    My I can do something to fix this strange problem?

    Any advice/help will be welcome
    Thanks in advance
    Steve
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails FB3-SE 001.jpg  

    FB3-SE 002.jpg  

    my webpage
    http://stevemilani.jimdo.com
    Skype ID: stevemilani957

    my RGB analogue projectors:
    3.9 W (640/532/445) 30kpps
    2.6 W (655/532/450) 30kpps
    2.5 W (638/532/450) 30kpps
    0.7 W (test unit)(635/532/473) 18kpps

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    7,067

    Default

    Looks like you are not getting any signal to the X galvo. Check your wiring all the way to the FB3-SE board. The board might need to be sent in for service. PM me the serial number an I can see if it is still under warranty.
    Love, peace, and grease,

    allthat... aka: aaron@pangolin

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    East Sussex, England
    Posts
    5,246

    Default

    What software are you using, QS or LP?

    Also, have you got both FB3's set up simultaneously in projector settings? If so, is it possible that the SE board is mapped to a default zone that has an X axis size of 0?
    Frikkin Lasers
    http://www.frikkinlasers.co.uk

    You are using Bonetti's defense against me, ah?

    I thought it fitting, considering the rocky terrain.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    East Sussex, England
    Posts
    5,246

    Default

    Also, have you confimed the same firmware on both boards?
    Frikkin Lasers
    http://www.frikkinlasers.co.uk

    You are using Bonetti's defense against me, ah?

    I thought it fitting, considering the rocky terrain.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Once it was called "Bel Paese" = ITALY
    Posts
    858

    Default

    Hi Aaron, thanks for quick answer.

    Yep! I already checked all wiring lot of times.... everything seems ok.
    As you know I also have three other RGB projectors: each of them, when connected at the FB3-SE device, works fine.
    It is this last one projector only to drive me crazy when connected at this device....

    The only difference I know between all my scanners is the number of wires : only the crazy projector has scanners driven by only 3 wires: X+ Y+ and only one common negative (-) wire, that I connected to x- and y- (jointed together).
    Maybe I wrong something about x- and y- connection ??????
    my webpage
    http://stevemilani.jimdo.com
    Skype ID: stevemilani957

    my RGB analogue projectors:
    3.9 W (640/532/445) 30kpps
    2.6 W (655/532/450) 30kpps
    2.5 W (638/532/450) 30kpps
    0.7 W (test unit)(635/532/473) 18kpps

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    East Sussex, England
    Posts
    5,246

    Default

    Thats your problem. These are single ended scanners. If your FB3 SE is old enough, it may not have the differential board fitted so it won't put anything on the 14 and 15 pins of the ILDA connector.

    GND needs to go to pin 25 or your star ground
    Frikkin Lasers
    http://www.frikkinlasers.co.uk

    You are using Bonetti's defense against me, ah?

    I thought it fitting, considering the rocky terrain.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Once it was called "Bel Paese" = ITALY
    Posts
    858

    Default

    Hi Norty.

    I usually run QuickShow Designer v.332 (even if I also have all oldest versions).
    I updated firmware in both my USB devices: version 7,25
    I tried to test projector by Beyond also..... negative.... it's the same failure coming out.
    my webpage
    http://stevemilani.jimdo.com
    Skype ID: stevemilani957

    my RGB analogue projectors:
    3.9 W (640/532/445) 30kpps
    2.6 W (655/532/450) 30kpps
    2.5 W (638/532/450) 30kpps
    0.7 W (test unit)(635/532/473) 18kpps

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    East Sussex, England
    Posts
    5,246

    Default

    Its not the FB3, its your wiring ^^ see above

    You know the FB3 works fine because you've used it on other projectors ok. That info would've been good in the first post before we went off on a tangent

    Also, if it works ok on projectors with differential scanners then its already got a differential board, so ignore my previous comment about that.
    Frikkin Lasers
    http://www.frikkinlasers.co.uk

    You are using Bonetti's defense against me, ah?

    I thought it fitting, considering the rocky terrain.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Once it was called "Bel Paese" = ITALY
    Posts
    858

    Default

    What a big jackass I am!!!!!
    I should have known ....
    I become old.... My brain is going for s**t.......

    Tonite i will modify pin 14 and 15 connections...
    Thanks Norty!
    Thanks Aaron!
    my webpage
    http://stevemilani.jimdo.com
    Skype ID: stevemilani957

    my RGB analogue projectors:
    3.9 W (640/532/445) 30kpps
    2.6 W (655/532/450) 30kpps
    2.5 W (638/532/450) 30kpps
    0.7 W (test unit)(635/532/473) 18kpps

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    East Sussex, England
    Posts
    5,246

    Default

    What I'm struggling to work out is where your Y scanner is picking up a ground from. It must be, because you have a size on that axis.
    Frikkin Lasers
    http://www.frikkinlasers.co.uk

    You are using Bonetti's defense against me, ah?

    I thought it fitting, considering the rocky terrain.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •