Thread: Hi from Portland

Default Hi from Portland

Hi guys, figure this is as good of a place as any to introduce myself.

I am from Beaverton, OR, outside of Portland. I was working (and hopefully will again) for Laika Entertainment. We made the movie Coraline and the upcoming movie Paranorman. I worked as a camera tech/moco guy/machinist/electronics guy. In between films now, waiting for things to start up for the next movie. One of the latest trailers:

So other than that, I have all sorts of hobbies. At home I have a complete machine shop, Supermax CNC Mill and Hercus CNC Lathe, Monarch 10ee manual lathe, Surface and tool grinders, you name it.

Monarch 10EE Lathe by macona, on Flickr

I also have a small "lab" area where I have the cleaner stuff. I mess around with vacuum systems as well. I have two right now, one I am setting up for doing coatings and fun stuff like that. It has a 6" diffusion pump with cryo and a 18"x18' bell jar. I plan on installing a couple 2" sputter guns to do my own dielectric coatings. Powering these is a Advanced Energy 2.5kw, 450KHz RF power supply. With this I should be able to do most any material and even do some PECVD. Film thickness is controlled through a Sycon deposition controller and I can monitor things with a Dycor Dymaxion 100AMU RGA. I have can get this system down to the low 10^-7 torr without too much issue.

Vacuum System by macona, on Flickr

The small vacuum system sits on a cart. It is basically a portable Residual Gas Analyzer/ Mass Spec system, it has a small Alcatel 2002 roughing pump that backs a Pfeiffer 071 turbo pump on the setup with the heart being an older Inficon 200AMU Quadrex RGA with electron multiplier. This system can easily get down to 10^-8 torr. The plan is to be able to use this as a portable leak checker and also pump down things like laser tubes and neon stuff.

IMGP6084 by macona, on Flickr

IMG_0194 by macona, on Flickr