Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Creating My own laser show software

Default Creating My own laser show software

Hi everyone, I am a total newbie to lasers

I want to begin with laser software programming, I want to incorporate laser shows into our software. I need help with the firts steps, in order to to create a tiny C++ software that reads an .ild file and show it on a demo screen, not a laser yet.

I have been searching the web and the forums but not found the key. could you give any advice please?

Any example in how to read a .ild file a draw it on the screen.

thanks in advance

i'm no programmer but i would start by studying the ILDA file format (for example http://www.laserist.org/StandardsDoc...finaldraft.pdf ), there are more versions so i guess you need to see what are the differences between versions
    OR
    you can do what most of us living in the future were dreaming of since ILDA became so obsolete - propose a design of new format that meets today needs and all the hot chicks will Hail to the king

LaserBoy is 100% generic C++! It is also free, open source and under the GPL.
    Creator of LaserBoy!
    LaserBoy is free and runs in Windows, MacOS and Linux (including Raspberry Pi!).
    Download LaserBoy!
    YouTube Tutorials
    Ask me about my LaserBoy Correction Amp Kit for sale!
    All software has a learning curve usually proportional to its capabilities and unique features. Pointing with a mouse is in no way easier than tapping a key.

DrLava of the LSX software gives away a free DAC toolkit which is, I think, a C++ API to allow sending laser frames to a multitude of DACs. It would be a good toolkit to grab for when you want to actually send the images to a laser projector. For ILDA processing, you could lift the ILDA file reading/writing code from LaserBoy since it is open source. Drawing to a screen is childs place once you get the frame points since they are XY coordinates in 16 bit space.