Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Something that get me worried about Blanking signal !!

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    1,303

    Default Something that get me worried about Blanking signal !!

    Hi there

    My RGB lasers is running from a EasyLase DAC with ANALOG blanking.
    And all 3 colours have analog blanking.

    The system working fine.....

    But I did recently get a new green dpss laser, and that powersupply show the current volt into the lasers blanking!
    As I understand it`s 0volt, nothing and 5volt 100% output (2.5volt 50% almost) ??

    The Display on the front show me 5volt when I turn the power at max ! Then I have my laser at 100%


    Now about the scary part....
    The analog output from Easylase only give me 3.6Volt when I play a ILD file in Mamba !! (like a square with no blaning)
    So whatever I do, I ONLY reach 3.6volt on the display

    If that is true, all my other lasers in side my RGB box only get 3.6 volt also ???
    Then I have a loss of 20% at each laser almost :?:


    plz tell me that I`m totally wrong here ?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    112

    Default

    How did you measure the voltage?
    If you measured it with a multimeter, you get only a n average voltage, since the laser is tuned on/off.
    You get only the real voltage with an oscilloscope.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    1,303

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TL
    How did you measure the voltage?
    If you measured it with a multimeter, you get only a n average voltage, since the laser is tuned on/off.
    You get only the real voltage with an oscilloscope.
    The voltage input of blanking signal is on the DISPLAY in front of my laser power supply !

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    112

    Default

    ok, I think this is an averaged value...

    For a explanation see: http://www.blazelabs.com/e-exp09.asp

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    1,303

    Default

    hmm

    Yes i think you are correct about that..
    But I did belive that a signal from a square did not have any HZ.
    becouse it`s a constant signal out to the laser with full power, and NO blanking at all..

    When I make 2 lines, the laser blank between the lines!
    And then the voltage is only 2volt on the display (then it`s all about what you say first)



  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    112

    Default

    I believe Mamba has an option "return to center" or something like that. Maybe it's called different, I'm not using mamba...
    If in every frame the scanning system returns to 0/0 you will have blanking lines...

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    North West England
    Posts
    1,148

    Default

    I think Filip is more concerned about the diode not getting full intensity rather than full blanking.
    Its easy to see that it is blanking but not so easy to see if the diode is fully on.

    You could always scope the blanking signal to check that it is 5v.

    Jim

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    1,303

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JimBo
    I think Filip is more concerned about the diode not getting full intensity rather than full blanking.
    Its easy to see that it is blanking but not so easy to see if the diode is fully on.

    You could always scope the blanking signal to check that it is 5v.

    Jim
    you are both correct..
    The return to Center signal will make it seems like it it less power !
    But there was NOT any return to center on my mamba at this moment (i turn it off)

    And IF there was, will that not make the laser blank than again make the output less powerfull ?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    3,694

    Default

    It would surprise me if there were no blanked points, even in a single square.

    Really the only method to see whats happening voltage wise is exactly what Jim said, and check with a cro.
    KVANT Australian projector sales
    https://www.facebook.com/kvantaus/

    Lasershowparts- Laser Parts at great prices
    https://www.facebook.com/lasershowparts/

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Flying over a town near you
    Posts
    1,404

    Default

    One thing to make note of.....LDS reserves a portion of full power in the blanking signal output for "sparkle" highlight feature. I am not sure if the other systems support this, but I would check. I was pissed too when I had about 750 mW testing and aligning the beam table. When all was set up to display through scanners the max power levels were around 600mW all lines. Then I found the sparkle feature and applied it and there was all the reserve power. It can't be defeated. Hope this helps........
    You are the only one that can make your dreams come true....and the only one that can stop them...A.M. Dietrich

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •