Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Turn it in to something

Default Turn it in to something

I have the following laser projectors that I would like to customize / combine / turn them into something:

3 Chauvet Scorpions
    (GVC - 532nm@10mw, 20mw@405nm)
    (RVM - 650nm@15mw, 405nm@15mw)
    (RGY - 650nm@20mw, 532@10mw)

I recently upgraded to an RGB projector with galvos (finally!). I want to improve/upgrade these old scorpions.
    I am new to opening up projectors so I apologize in advance for any moronic terminology. I am constantly learning new things from this amazing forum.

Questions:

(1)
    Can I take the Diodes out and place them in 1 case/box/unit, use cubes (what kind?) to combine the separate red, green and violet diodes, then align it all to output through one of the Scorpion's stepper motor mirror optics/apeture?

(2)
    Can I combine the violet diode(s) to create RGV output. I think I would need dichros? White balance is not an issue, I just want 7 colors.

I know I would need to set up power supplies (drivers?) for each re-purposed/re-mounted diode and run it all to the main power source in the single unified case (no idea how or what). I would also need to do some serious precision mounting across the board (diodes, dichros, mirror mounting, etc.)

If anyone has an idea or has done something similar in the past, please let me know what your thoughts are on something like this.

Hi Ghoffman!

The general answer to your questions are kind-of and yes/yes, but allow me to side-step your questions for a moment as I was once in your shoes.