Page 1 of 7 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Beyond Vs iMac - Possible???

Default Beyond Vs iMac - Possible???

Hi all

I fear it's time to buy a new computer, i've been using the same Dell Windows Vista laptop for the past 6 years and it's starting to groan under the strain

The thing is that I bought a new Macbook for my music collection a few months ago and I absolutely love it, everything just seems to work smoothly and i've not had a single hiccup since I got it. It also syncs with my iPhone and iPad, backs up to iCloud etc etc, all without me having to think about it.

This makes me want to consider getting an iMac and moving away from Windoze altogether for my main computer. The problem is that I have lots of extremely useful windows programs that I still use a lot. Also, I would want to run my laser software (Beyond, QS, LD2000, Showtime etc etc). Now, I know there are some programs that will allow you to run Windows on a Mac, Parallels being one of them and I believe VM Fusion is the other?.

However, will I hit any problems running the Pangolin programs and the hardware (QM2000.net and FB3 QS). This is going to be the deal breaker, because if these programs won't run correctly i'll stick with a PC.

Anyone got any experience of running all their laser kit on a Mac, if you have please post here with your experiences/problems etc. iMacs are a lot of money and I don't want to make an expensive mistake.

Thanks

Jem
    Quote: "There is a theory which states that if ever, for any reason, anyone discovers what exactly the Universe is for and why it is here it will instantly disappear and be replaced by something even more bizarre and inexplicable. There is another that states that this has already happened.”... Douglas Adams 1952 - 2001

swamidog is online now Jr. Woodchuckington Janitor III, Esq.

you should be fine using vmware, parallels, or bootcamp.