Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: 15W 8channel NEOS PCAOM Crystal

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    3,246

    Default 15W 8channel NEOS PCAOM Crystal

    Hello Guys,

    I'm looking to buy a PCAOM crystal with mount preferably.
    Polorization I'm looking for is vertically polorized however I believe rotating would get rid of the issue of there is no vertical polorized available..

    Preferably Looking for one that can handle up to 15watt (or higher?)

    I have an PCAOM controller which is tuned and all but I don't know if it's 4 or 8channel (inside it has 8 numbered pots so I assume 4 channels because of course and fine adjustements)
    *preferably I am looking for an crystal that can handle 8channels*
    *I wont turn it on without a crystal plugged in*
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_6551.JPG 
Views:	18 
Size:	2.30 MB 
ID:	45146 Click image for larger version. 

Name:	pcaom.jpg 
Views:	20 
Size:	99.8 KB 
ID:	45148

    My budget is ~150$ to 200$ max.
    I also offer trades (shows?) if it's something I can provide.
    Last edited by masterpj; 10-22-2014 at 12:08.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    SoCal / San Salvador / NY
    Posts
    4,019

    Lightbulb

    Quote Originally Posted by masterpj View Post
    ...Looking for one that can handle up to 15watt (or higher?)
    PM sent..

    Quote Originally Posted by masterpj View Post
    ...I don't know if it's 4 or 8channel..
    ..If the 'core driver' looks something like this inside: http://www.photonlexicon.com/forums/...3&d=1333918690 ..it's an 8 Ch.. That is an 8-Ch. Driver Box..

    EDIT: I now-see the other pic u uploaded.. That is a rarer 'slim-depth' Driver box, with an 8-Channel 'driver core'.. That's the 'fixed-frequency' driver, where the crystals are 'hard-set', vs the 'tunable' one, like that link I posted.. The one you have is certainly appropriate, tho.....

    ..You'll also want a 'breakout box' to reconcile the 'disparity' tween the ILDA / QM2K color-lines, and the NEOS DB25-in color-assigns.. Here's the 'lookup table'.. http://www.photonlexicon.com/forums/...8&d=1368676419 ..and here's an example of a 'Color-breakouts box'..

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	NEOS_Breakout.JPG 
Views:	3 
Size:	220.4 KB 
ID:	45149 ..you could either run a DB25 ILDA, from an 'ILDA Out' after yer Scan-box, -or- Make-up a custom 'Color-line / XY-splitter Y-cable', straight-off yer QM / FB3, whatever.. Or, sure, use a 'DZ / Stanwax DB-25 breakout board', but who wants to deal with all that spaghetti?

    .02
    j

    PPS - ..Now that you can.. Don't forget to join the 'PL IOC' http://www.photonlexicon.com/forums/...php?groupid=16 ..you'll fit right in with that Big Gun 171! ..and, Wow! Carn't believe there's 43 Members, that's great! Last time I looked, (..which, I guess was a while-back, now.. there were only a handful of peeps.. Well, as I always say...

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Ion_WL_lines.jpg 
Views:	26 
Size:	58.4 KB 
ID:	45153
    Last edited by dsli_jon; 10-22-2014 at 12:52. Reason: editz..
    ....and armed only with his trusty 21 Zorgawatt KTiOPO4...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    3,246

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dsli_jon View Post
    PM sent..



    ..If the 'core driver' looks something like this inside: http://www.photonlexicon.com/forums/...3&d=1333918690 ..it's an 8 Ch.. That is an 8-Ch. Driver Box.. But, confirm the 'core', and lettuce know..

    j
    Recieved PM

    It looks nothing like that though no markings other then numbering so far and 9 buttons at the front. Assuming for 8 channels and one for the inverting of blanking.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_6609.JPG 
Views:	9 
Size:	1.64 MB 
ID:	45150Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_6610.JPG 
Views:	7 
Size:	1.85 MB 
ID:	45151Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_6616.JPG 
Views:	10 
Size:	1.62 MB 
ID:	45152

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    SoCal / San Salvador / NY
    Posts
    4,019

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by masterpj View Post
    ..Assuming for 8 channels and one for the inverting of blanking.
    ..Sorry, our 'post-sync' is off a bit.. See Edits above.. And yes - those 'buttons' are for sending an 'internal full-signal' to each channel for alignment / testing.. The last one "blanking" is for selecting internal / external blanking, when driving with TTL-inputs (..which, obviously, you won't-be, so.. no worries..

    Gotta jet, ttyl..
    j
    ....and armed only with his trusty 21 Zorgawatt KTiOPO4...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    3,246

    Default

    Don't need the breakout box
    The thing came with a special cable to wire the unit to the projector and to the scanners.
    I only had to get an extra d-sub15 cable to extend the wires to the scanners as one was missing, wasn't very hard to buy.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_6617.JPG 
Views:	13 
Size:	2.03 MB 
ID:	45154


    I didn't fire up the PCAOM without a crystal as it would kill it but yeah I used that splitter cable to send the signals to the amps from my QM2000.

    Joined the group as well
    Last edited by masterpj; 10-22-2014 at 13:31. Reason: added pic of cable, quickly hooked up for demonstration

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •