Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Spectra Physics 2085 Beamlock - Argon Laser: high tube pressure?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    1

    Default Spectra Physics 2085 Beamlock - Argon Laser: high tube pressure?

    We have a Spectra Physics 2085 Beamlock laser running at high voltage (~600V) right now and fairly low current (37A). Power has been decreasing steadily at our 514nm line, we're now slightly below 1Watt at our maximum. Is this possibly a symptom of high tube pressure? How could we decrease it? Is there anything else that might be causing this issue? I'd appreciate any hints and help.

    Ola

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Tampa Florida
    Posts
    502

    Default

    Contact Phil Fostini at Evergreen for help and advice. If running at high current does not bring down the tube voltage re-pumping may be the only way to get the green back. Evergreen does good work ata fair cost. Phil Bergeron
    Phil Bergeron( AKA 142laser)

  3. #3
    mixedgas's Avatar
    mixedgas is online now Creaky Old Award Winning Bastard Technologist
    Infinitus Excellentia Ion Laser Dominatus
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    A lab with some dripping water on the floor.
    Posts
    9,469

    Default

    Turning "Autofill" off immediately would help if your PSU has the autofill switch and autofill card is malfunctioning. (may be on back of the head) Then disconnect the fill solenoid cable up by the cathode. There is a connector in the cable to the fill tank. It will not hurt the laser to run without autofill. It will hurt if the fill system is continuing to cycle.

    Evergreen or Cambridge Lasers Laboratories can pull your tube pressure down if need be.

    Which MODEL NUMBER OF 2085 PSU do you have? The 270 or the 2XXX series?

    Steve
    Qui habet Christos, habet Vitam!
    I should have rented the space under my name for advertising.
    When I still could have...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    SoCal / San Salvador / NY
    Posts
    4,019

    Lightbulb

    Hola Ola -

    Quote Originally Posted by Ola View Post
    We have a ....Power has been decreasing steadily at our 514nm line...
    a) Seconding Steve's question about the PSU.. Do you have an adjustable magnet setting on your PS? That can also hinder power, if going-bad.. b) What 'happens' to the power / the 514 line, if you try and run it up to Max-current (50A, iirc, for those..)? and c) Where are you located? US? International? (helps shape the 'where to steer you-to' advice..)

    cheers..
    j
    Last edited by dsli_jon; 02-10-2015 at 01:01. Reason: fix quote glitch
    ....and armed only with his trusty 21 Zorgawatt KTiOPO4...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Port Saint Lucie Fla.
    Posts
    15

    Default

    http://youtu.be/xb4PoBoGTp0 I am just starting ,.. i need to build a power Supply ,.. for this paragon 100 / 130 W http://youtu.be/xb4PoBoGTp0

  6. #6
    mixedgas's Avatar
    mixedgas is online now Creaky Old Award Winning Bastard Technologist
    Infinitus Excellentia Ion Laser Dominatus
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    A lab with some dripping water on the floor.
    Posts
    9,469

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pompanopatjr View Post
    http://youtu.be/xb4PoBoGTp0 I am just starting ,.. i need to build a power Supply ,.. for this paragon 100 / 130 W http://youtu.be/xb4PoBoGTp0
    Hey, you already have your own Co2 thread.

    Besides when I tried to view your videos I got a ""private"" and could not access them.

    Please reply in your own thread.


    Steve
    Qui habet Christos, habet Vitam!
    I should have rented the space under my name for advertising.
    When I still could have...

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Port Saint Lucie Fla.
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Sorry i am new to this,..

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •