Thread: Laser module recommendation

Default Laser module recommendation

This is my first post. I'm new to laser technology so any help would be greatly appreciated.

I'm trying to find the correct laser module for a research project which intends to determine bugs resistance to laser radiation and, maybe, in the future, kill the ones that are harmful.

Initial research shows that 10W of output power, delivered in a 5 mm diameter beam, in the near infrared region is a good starting point but a few other features would greatly optimize the work:

1 - External modulation: The firing time and output power will have to be both externally controlled since total output energy is the main parameter being studied.

2 - Aiming beam: A visible auxiliary aiming beam would simplify the aiming procedure... a lot.

3 - Fiber coupling: It seems to me that handling specimens and aiming the beam would be easier if done with a fiber coupled module then some awkward "module on tripod" thing.

4 - Complete module: At this stage, I'd rather purchase a complete module and driver than trying to assemble a mount + diode + collimating lenses so as to speed things up a bit.

5 - Price: I've been doing some research and it seems that one can find almost any price for almost any range of output power. It's really hard to know if I'm not finding a cheap module because they don't exist or because I'm looking at the wrong places. Target module + driver price would be in the high hundreds.

Could you please recommend a supplier or specific parts for this endeavour? Am I asking too much for too little?

Thanks a lot

Bradfo69 is offline Pending BST Forum Purchases: $47,127,283.53

Be patient.... there are a lot of smart people on here and I'm sure someone will hop in here soon. (I'm not one of them... )