Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Anyone know max voltage for Die4Chill

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    London or Spain depending on the weather
    Posts
    1,381

    Default Anyone know max voltage for Die4Chill


    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	thinking2.gif 
Views:	80 
Size:	2.3 KB 
ID:	47774. I need to know if it's OK to wire two (3,7v-3amp) peltiers in series and run them thru one Die4Chill using a 12 or 9vdc supply ?

    or ... just what exactly is the max voltage/current, a Die4Chill can manage, without the magic smoke escaping from it's electrickery ?Click image for larger version. 

Name:	faint.gif 
Views:	80 
Size:	1.4 KB 
ID:	47776

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	anyone.gif 
Views:	80 
Size:	1.0 KB 
ID:	47775
    Cheers

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    London or Spain depending on the weather
    Posts
    1,381

    Default


    Lack of broadband sometimes causes strange things to happen.
    Last edited by catalanjo; 07-17-2015 at 10:58. Reason: double post ....wot's going on !

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Charleston, SC
    Posts
    2,147,489,114

    Default

    If they pull 3 amps and you run them in series off a 12 volt supply, you'll be generating ~ 13 watts of resistive heat at the die4chill board. So long as the output transistor has a heat sink on it you should be fine.

    Adam

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    London or Spain depending on the weather
    Posts
    1,381

    Default


    Thanks Adam...Click image for larger version. 

Name:	thinking2.gif 
Views:	60 
Size:	2.3 KB 
ID:	47777 I could be wrong! .... but I don't think that Die4Chill works quite like that !

    The IRF7805ZPbFs on this card, are a "switching" high power Mosfets in a SO-8 (surface mount) package so heatsink is not really an option!

    Die4Chill is not like an LD driver, it works by switching a pulsed output from an inductance oscillator circuit!

    So linear power transistor V x A = W calculation is not really applicable !

    Board indicates 12vdc and max I = 8amps .... but I think this might be a little misleading !

    Hence the info request to members with practical experience with this card ! Click image for larger version. 

Name:	anyone.gif 
Views:	60 
Size:	1.0 KB 
ID:	47778

    Cheers
    Last edited by catalanjo; 07-18-2015 at 05:06. Reason: more adecuate smileys

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Barcelona, Spain
    Posts
    439

    Default

    I have no experience with Die4Chill but this Japanese TEC controller works incredibly well and does not need heatsink.
    just my two cents
    http://www.tslab.com/english/sPLC10/sPLC10_intro.html
    cheers

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    London or Spain depending on the weather
    Posts
    1,381

    Default


    Gracias, Jordi .. but have D4Cs in stock and they seem to have similar spec, although a bit "thicker"!
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	thinking2.gif 
Views:	39 
Size:	2.3 KB 
ID:	47815 BTW ... had a look at their web page but can't see how they work... they say PWM but I can't see any inductor!
    Cheers
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	idea.gif 
Views:	39 
Size:	3.8 KB 
ID:	47816 PS...Tienes alguna placa media onda para 638nm que te sobra y me podrias vender?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    3,702

    Default

    That should be fine, as long as you set the die4chill to less than the TEC max rated current, you should be fine.. The Die4chill is similar to a constant current diode driver in that you set the current, and the volts look after themselves
    KVANT Australian projector sales
    https://www.facebook.com/kvantaus/

    Lasershowparts- Laser Parts at great prices
    https://www.facebook.com/lasershowparts/

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Barcelona, Spain
    Posts
    439

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by catalanjo View Post

    Gracias, Jordi .. but have D4Cs in stock and they seem to have similar spec, although a bit "thicker"!
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	thinking2.gif 
Views:	39 
Size:	2.3 KB 
ID:	47815 BTW ... had a look at their web page but can't see how they work... they say PWM but I can't see any inductor!
    Cheers
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	idea.gif 
Views:	39 
Size:	3.8 KB 
ID:	47816 PS...Tienes alguna placa media onda para 638nm que te sobra y me podrias vender?
    Yes, no inductor...it also surprised me, but anyway seems to work pretty well. Sorry, I have waveplate for 520 & 445 and some cubes, not 638. well, have one 638 waveplate but its glued on pbs...I glued it but then had to change design, so its a cube+pbs glued on a mount

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    3,702

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jors View Post
    Yes, no inductor...it also surprised me, but anyway seems to work pretty well.
    It wont be so kind to your TEC's if no inductor is used.
    KVANT Australian projector sales
    https://www.facebook.com/kvantaus/

    Lasershowparts- Laser Parts at great prices
    https://www.facebook.com/lasershowparts/

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    London or Spain depending on the weather
    Posts
    1,381

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jors View Post
    ...... well, have one 638 waveplate but its glued on pbs...I glued it but then had to change design, so its a cube+pbs glued on a mount
    Excelente! Click image for larger version. 

Name:	boing.gif 
Views:	33 
Size:	4.6 KB 
ID:	47817
    Cuanto quieres por el bulto entero, mas envio a Blanes
    Cheers

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	thinking2.gif 
Views:	33 
Size:	2.3 KB 
ID:	47818 Could also exchange new PBS and mount (different types available) instead of just pasta!
    Last edited by catalanjo; 07-20-2015 at 13:15. Reason: Gray matter very slow today !

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •