Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Help doing calculations

Default Help doing calculations

Good morning laser peeps.

I am new to lasers and am doing some outdoor stuff for a small local festival. I have been asked by Transport Canada to fill out some forms.
    The Official government PDF can be viewed here.

The form is fairly straight forward until you get into the laser details. I don't have access to Skyzan and I was wondering if anyone could help me out?
    I have 3 different colors that I will be working with.

All of these lasers will be in a fixed position. Some pointed vertical and some horizontal. We don't know about the horizontal ones yet, because it depends on the topography of the actual location for safety reasons. These lasers will be mounted 12 feet off the ground so people cant touch them.
    I have purchased 3 test lasers, here are the links. (If you have a better suggestion for lasers, I am all ears)

Red
    Blue
    Green

Here are the details:
    RED: 660nm
    CW
    Semiconductor
    300mw
    beam diameter 1.5 mm
    beam divergence 1.5 mrad

Green: 532nm
    CW
    Semiconductor
    100mw
    beam diameter 1.5mm
    beam divergence 1.5mrad

Blue: 405nm
    CW
    Semiconductor
    100mw
    beam diameter 1.5mm
    beam divergence 1.2mrad

What I need for each one:
    MPE w/cm-2
    PCP
    VCF
    VCP
    NOHD
    SZED
    CZED
    LFED

What version of skyzan you use to calculate.

I am going to also go through the forum and do a lot more reading.
    I am also looking for some safety goggles but a lot of them dont cover the 660nm range.

Regards,
    Darkrider
    Last edited by darkrider; 02-14-2017 at 06:24.

Beam divergence is usually expressed in "milliradians"...

I'd say as a general rule if you have to ask how to calculate MPE - you're not ready to do that kind of show, but I'm an annoying old guy...