Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Ophir smartheads calibration

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    282

    Default Ophir smartheads calibration

    I own an old ophir nova and heads. One particular head (10A-V2-C-8FT-SH) is a broadband (smart)head calibrated for CO2.
    So the only wavelength I can choose on my nova is CO2.
    Browsing the internet (for hours) tells me that I can recalibrate the head using my nova using reference sources.
    But that is for the CO2 wavelength. Since the head is broadband, I would preferably add other (visible) wavelengths.
    I cannot find any information on how to do that. Is there anyone that has experience with this?
    Sending to ophir is not an option and buying another head neither (both moneywise....).
    Any input on this would be greatly appreciated!

  2. #2
    mixedgas's Avatar
    mixedgas is offline Creaky Old Award Winning Bastard Technologist
    Infinitus Excellentia Ion Laser Dominatus
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    A lab with some dripping water on the floor.
    Posts
    9,200

    Default

    MY OEM smart head has five (5!) wavelength tables, I know two of them were programmed on mine, Vis and Co2. . I can set them using serial commands when talking to the head with a serial port. You might want to call Ophir and see if your head is dual calibrated. The table may already be there.

    Steve
    Qui habet Christos, habet Vitam!
    I should have rented the space under my name for advertising.
    When I still could have...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    282

    Default

    Hmm, if I can find the pinout, baudrate, parity, commands and so on I could see what I could find inside.

  4. #4
    mixedgas's Avatar
    mixedgas is offline Creaky Old Award Winning Bastard Technologist
    Infinitus Excellentia Ion Laser Dominatus
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    A lab with some dripping water on the floor.
    Posts
    9,200

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jeejeedr View Post
    Hmm, if I can find the pinout, baudrate, parity, commands and so on I could see what I could find inside.
    The baud rate is NOT fixed. Call / Email Ophir, they are friendly.\

    Steve
    Qui habet Christos, habet Vitam!
    I should have rented the space under my name for advertising.
    When I still could have...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    90

    Default

    Agreed. Ophir is great. I recently got a Vega and head from them. Reasonable to work with, for sure.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    282

    Default

    Got an answer back from Ophir. they say if the VIS or NIR does not show up on my meter, then it should be recalibrated. Price would be around $395 (calibration + shipping back) + shipping to germany from my house (another $30 or so).
    So in short, that is not an option.

    But after some more hours spent on the fabulous internet, I found out that one can add new frequencies himself if he has a compact juno or usbi together with starlab.
    If I can find someone with a usb interface, starlab and a calibrated head then I could configure and calibrate it. Maybe not as precise as ophir does, but with a small enough error for my purposes.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •