Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Pangolin Beyond MIDI Controllers Work Randomly

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    8

    Default Pangolin Beyond MIDI Controllers Work Randomly

    I'm wondering if anyone else is having trouble getting MIDI controllers to work in Pangolin Beyond.
    I have two off-the-shelf controllers, both connected to the computer via USB. Both devices are listed in MIDI Settings and both device profiles are loaded. Everything is set correctly; however, there is a seemingly random chance that both controllers will either work or both will not work. This happens on any computer I have running Beyond. I can restart Beyond and/or reboot the computer, keeping all hardware connected as before and the outcome can be different (they'll work or they won't work). I just don't know if the issue is related to the laser software, Windows 10, or something else; I have no constant by which to troubleshoot the problem.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Nottingham, UK
    Posts
    2,787

    Default

    What model are the MIDI controllers? Are they mains powered or bus powered?
    Are you using a powered hub?

    Dan
    - There is no such word as "can't" -
    - 60% of the time it works every time -

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Posts
    2

    Default

    ı had a same problem, back to window 7 and runs perfectly, last 7 mths. I think problem was window 10.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by danielbriggs View Post
    What model are the MIDI controllers? Are they mains powered or bus powered?
    Are you using a powered hub?

    Dan
    I'm using off-the-shelf MIDI devices that weren't designed specifically for controlling lasers. They've been modified to work wirelessly and are connected to wireless transmitters. The wireless receivers are USB to computer. I'm currently not using a powered hub and, frankly, it's difficult to remember if I tried using them with one after all the combinations I've been trying. I'll try using a powered hub and seeing if that does the trick.
    Thanks.

    Quote Originally Posted by reddevillazer View Post
    ı had a same problem, back to window 7 and runs perfectly, last 7 mths. I think problem was window 10.
    Yikes! I like Win7 as much as the next guy but since I use my computers for Win10-dependent programs as well as Beyond that isn't an option. Were you using a powered USB hub for your controllers when you were having the issue with Win10?
    Thanks.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Nottingham, UK
    Posts
    2,787

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Zardoz View Post
    They've been modified to work wirelessly and are connected to wireless transmitters.
    That might be your problem...
    If connection is lost for a second / packet is dropped, it might need to initialise for it to work again.

    Using wired USB MIDI controllers from half a dozen manufacturers, on dozens of different laptops over the years... BEYOND has been really rock solid with MIDI for myself.
    - There is no such word as "can't" -
    - 60% of the time it works every time -

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by danielbriggs View Post
    That might be your problem...
    If connection is lost for a second / packet is dropped, it might need to initialise for it to work again.

    Using wired USB MIDI controllers from half a dozen manufacturers, on dozens of different laptops over the years... BEYOND has been really rock solid with MIDI for myself.
    For my particular purposes I need the controllers to be wireless. I have noticed that my AKAI APC40 MKII wired controller works solidly every time (that is, if it's powered on before Beyond launches), so maybe the wireless transmitters/receivers are at fault, like you implied. I'm not completely convinced of this because I make sure the transmitter/receivers are paired and the signal lights on the devices are solid (not flashing, which would indicate signal loss).

    Looking back on my notes, I noticed I was using a powered USB hub at one time and still having this issue, so I can probably rule out a main vs bus power issue.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    East Sussex, England
    Posts
    5,203

    Default

    Have you set the USB ports to not use power saving in Windows? Need them always on.
    My APC40 sometimes disconnects and I need to open midi settings to get it to work again.
    If your wireless or USB port power is causing even minor dropouts I can see how you might need to instigate a reconnect.
    http://www.facebook.com/SubsonicSystems
    http://www.frikkinlazors.co.uk

    You are using Bonetti's defense against me, ah?

    I thought it fitting, considering the rocky terrain.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •