Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Unity 3D to Ether-Dream 2 -> Laser output

Default Unity 3D to Ether-Dream 2 -> Laser output

Hi all,

I would like to connect my Ether-Dream 2 to Unity 3D to output graphics to a laser projection. The only problem is I am quite new to coding (and lasers). I can manage to write basic unity scripts for the graphics but have no idea how or where to begin to control the Ether-Dream API with unity?

Would this involve building a custom asset or is there a simple script that will allow me to draw shapes and images in c# that can then convert to laser output using the Ether-Dream 2 connected to an ILDA laser?

Can any of you point me to any pre-made scripts or tutorials? I noticed there was someone on this forum who made a 3D game in Unity with Laser output but I can not find any documentation? However, this is pretty close to what I want to make: https://photonlexicon.com/forums/sho...er-Need-advice

I would appreciate your help.

Thanks!

Last time I used Unity four years back it was mono based and I assume it still is. In that case, the best way to interface with the DAC is via straight up networking protocols so that your game will work on PC/MAC and even mobile.
    Creating a asset to do that would mean creating some GameObject that wraps the driver, and accepts frame data. Since Unity is single threaded you will have to be creative with how you handle that so that it doesn't block. There are a lot of implementations of the driver in GitHub so I think this part is relatively simple compared to the rest.