Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: 352nm UV laser: will it cut scotch tape?

Default 352nm UV laser: will it cut scotch tape?

Greetings laser gurus!

I am a laser noob with limited hands-on experience with CO2 and fiber lasers, but no theoretical background, and currently trying to solve a practical problem: I need to build a robotic system that would open corrugated cardboard boxes arriving to a distribution center. Basically, a box from a contract manufacturer comes in, it needs to be cut, opened and then goods from the box are extracted and sorted.

The problem that currently completely blocks me is how to open the box. Vibro-knives are a possibility, but they have pretty poor reliability record (blades have to be changed frequently) and they sometimes damage goods inside the box.

The hope is that I could use a galvo-driven laser + camera to identify box location and strategically cut tape + cardboard to allow easy box unloading. Here comes the question: what kind of laser would work best for this kind of application?

The important consideration is fire safety: the system is going to be running unattended for hours, and catching fire would be a pretty sad event.

... laser-cutting depends on wavelength, power and absorption rate inside the material -- some hundred Milliwatts on a focus as of 0,1mm diameter are enough, if the wavelength will be absorbed ("dark" or UV absorbing material) ... but all the safety/precaution measures will render this impracticable

Why not using a ceramic cutter blade?

Viktor
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Ceramic cutter1.jpg  

Ceramic cutter2.jpg  

Ceramic cutter3.jpg  

Aufruf zum Projekt "Müll-freie Meere" - https://reprap.org/forum/list.php?426
    Call for the project "garbage-free seas" - https://reprap.org/forum/list.php?425

Quote Originally Posted by VDX View Post
    Why not using a ceramic cutter blade?
    Viktor