Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Laser projector safety

Default Laser projector safety

Goodmorning everyone
    thanks to this beautiful and very useful forum, unique in its kind. Sorry for my bad english. I'm Davide from Italy. Passionate about lasers since childhood. I was 13 when I saw this videoclip (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cgONWacjrT0) and fell in love with that "green ray".
    Years have passed, and only back in 1990 I managed to get my first red projector with a 650mW he/ne tube and two rather basic galvos that reproduced simple figures (circle, square, waves) at a reasonable price, around $ 2,500. I was thrilled.
    More recently, thanks to the diodes, I made some small projectors, 50mW green with a diode of a pointer, then an RGB of about 500mW and one of 1500mW. Considering that I am a hobbyist and I will hardly EVER recover all or part of the money invested. My laser shows will perhaps be used in 1/2 evenings in a year, with friends, and for pure passion. Struck by sudden madness, I decided to grow further.
    I purchased 2 empty used cases, (thanks to fb and Emile, a very nice French guy) 2 rgb modules from Optolaser and i'm building a pair of 6000mW rgb projectors. They will be driven by internal Fb4 and Quickshow.
    Perfectly aware of the danger of these tools, I state that they will be used exclusively by myself and any shows will be made with the basis of notions of safety: 2 meters min.lateral distance from the body of people and min.3 meters above the heads.
    The projectors have a remote safety system with E-stop which operates a solid-state relay that immediately cuts the driver's analogue voltage, completely obscuring the lasers. I wanted some advice if I need to implement another safety system for my projector (rotary actuator / mechanical shutter?)
    Sorry for the long post and thanks very much everyone.

Hello David;