Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: win xp pro and udf ?????

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Flying over a town near you
    Posts
    1,404

    Default win xp pro and udf ?????

    Get this...I have 3 other P/C's here and all of them play dvd's just fine.....on XP home. The machine I had intended to use for the Pangolin software.....piece of #%*&...........it simply will not read a {dvd}udf file . Have Nero ultimate and new DVD R/W unit. Where to now ??.......maybe throw it out the window?????

    I have seen several posts mentioning that XP Pro does not support UDF at all and plain old XP reads it just fine.......
    There are no help files or posts that I can find....only complaints of the same type.
    Maybe someone can shed a little light here before I toss this machine into a scrap metal shredder...........while it's powered up ...............
    You are the only one that can make your dreams come true....and the only one that can stop them...A.M. Dietrich

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Norway, Fauske
    Posts
    1,206

    Default

    strange tho!
    I found this info at M$ site. Maby it helps?

    Pangolin FB3 QS/LivePro/SMS2Laser
    Riya MultiBus
    Pangolin LD2000 Pro

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    2,478

    Default

    Try a program like UltraISO, it should read the disk directly, independent of whether the OS thinks it can understand it or not. It will allow you to save an image to mount directly from hard disk. It will let you choose the image format too, so you can use something more compatible. It will at least let you explore things to figure out why something won't work.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Charleston, SC
    Posts
    2,147,488,801

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MechEng3 View Post
    it simply will not read a {dvd}udf file . Have Nero ultimate and new DVD R/W unit.
    Are you trying to copy the DVD tutorial disc, or are you trying to watch the DVD on your computer?

    I'm running XP Pro on all my machines, and the Pangolin DVD tutorial disc (the only DVD that comes with the Pangolin package) plays just fine.

    I think you're actually missing the codec for DVD playback. Windoes does *NOT* come with the required codec, despite the fact that their marketing for Windows Media Player claims that it can play DVDs right out of the box. (It can't... It needs the codec.)

    Do you have any stand-alone DVD playback software installed? (WinDVD, Interactual, etc?) If not, then you probably don't have a licence for the codec. (If you had installed one of those other players, then MediaPlayer would be able to "borrow" the codec and use it.)

    Look through the pile of discs that you got with your computer, and see if there is a disc that came with your DVD drive. It should have some CD and DVD burning software on it, and will probably also have a DVD player program. Once you install that DVD player program, you'll have the codec you need to watch DVD's using MediaPlayer.

    Adam

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Norway, Fauske
    Posts
    1,206

    Default

    I use this codec pack K-Lite Mega Codec Pack 3.3.5

    Pangolin FB3 QS/LivePro/SMS2Laser
    Riya MultiBus
    Pangolin LD2000 Pro

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Flying over a town near you
    Posts
    1,404

    Default

    I have just gotten off the phone with MS. They have spent just under3 hrs in remote desktop to try and find the answer. They called me on the phone and are going to get back with me later on Monday. Meanwhile.....back at stately wayne manor......I am ready to just blast this one. Tried everything except that. ......still plundering for the issue.......have tried all kinds of codecs and installed and removed software all day. Almost think it is just not meant to be......I have Nero ultra media software pkg............and power dvd. Nothing but a stumbling , hosed up display........filled with error warnings.
    Last edited by MechEng3; 09-02-2007 at 12:55.
    You are the only one that can make your dreams come true....and the only one that can stop them...A.M. Dietrich

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    2,478

    Default

    Ok, if diagnostics result in a mess, try treatment of the most likely problem. What is it you are trying to do. There might be a direct way to do it that bypasses most of the systems you're looking at, but so far I don't know what you want to get done. Are you trying to decode the content of a disk to play it somehow, or are you unable to get anything at all to read the disk's own file system? Your talk of UDF suggests the latter, so codecs could be irrelevant right now.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Flying over a town near you
    Posts
    1,404

    Default

    All I want the machine to do is be able to read the dvd so I can install and run the program. I have seen them plunder the registry editor and a lot of other not-normally-seen files . I have the machine fully restored now to it's previous non-operative state......
    You are the only one that can make your dreams come true....and the only one that can stop them...A.M. Dietrich

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    2,478

    Default

    Installing a program usually means a self extracting archive with a self-contained script is opened and run from a single executable file.

    Try UltraISO. That's helpful because it's an easy install, I think there might even be a version that will drop where you want and run the program itself from there. Use it to open the DVD directly, and browse it for the install file you want. Or you could copy the DVD to a big file (Or if you're using FAT32, select UltraISO's spanned file format or you won't get a DVD sized chunk of data onto FAT32 at all).

    Basically, use UltraISO to see if you can browse the DVD content at all, then consider your options for imaging the DVD and installing stuff from an image mounted with Daemon Tools or Alchohol or other program designed to do that. UltraISO can save the image in various forms. If you're using NTFS you can save the whole DVD image as a single file, making the whole thing easy.

    Don't think of codecs or any other handler for content on the DVD until you are sure you can freely access and image its file system. Remember, if you can image it with UltraISO or simlar tool, you can bypass the OS's inability to do that. It's often worth paring an OS down to essentials and rebuilding on its foundations by adding your own trusted set of tools, for this reason.
    Last edited by The_Doctor; 09-02-2007 at 14:02.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Flying over a town near you
    Posts
    1,404

    Default

    I am going away from this machine for now to save whats left of sanity . This is all good info ....but then again you don't realize this is my life. Nothing ever that simple. I always get the problems that seem to haunt the more knowledgable of these computers. Even a 19 year Hitachi data service specialist is somewhat at a loss of where to go from here with this. Abandoning the machine is my next action. Scrap for whatever.I have had my new program,Pangolin, for 2 weeks now and have not even seen the intro screen to it. The tutorial seems like a good overveiw though. Just unhappy I cant play with new laser toys....thats all. BTW this has been going on for 6 or 7 days now....time to call it over with this machine.
    You are the only one that can make your dreams come true....and the only one that can stop them...A.M. Dietrich

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •