Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Differential to scanner amps

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Cupertino, California
    Posts
    2,130

    Default Differential to scanner amps

    The Scanner amps I have have a connector labeled +GG- for the input. I am wondering if I have to connect the X+/X- to the +_ pins and not the G pins. That makes sense because the DAC has +- 5V outputs. I hope that is my problem because when I hooked up the X+/X- pin to the +G pins of the scanner amps the image I got was warped like a parallelogram.
    CLICKY!!!

    Admin: In the immortal words of Captain Planet: YOU HAVE THE POWER
    Admin: (To quit being a bitch)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Pflugerville, TX, USA
    Posts
    1,977

    Default

    (X+) from your DAC goes to (+) on the scanner board. (X-) goes to (-). You should have a 3rd wire for gnd and it can go to either or both of the (G)s on the scanner board because they are connected together on the scanner board. Same goes for Y.
    Last edited by carmangary; 09-10-2007 at 17:27.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Cupertino, California
    Posts
    2,130

    Default

    Okay, that helps a lot. The manual did not sat that. It said to connect to the + only.
    CLICKY!!!

    Admin: In the immortal words of Captain Planet: YOU HAVE THE POWER
    Admin: (To quit being a bitch)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Pflugerville, TX, USA
    Posts
    1,977

    Default

    Yea, the manual kind of sucks... sorry about that but that's what they supply to me. If you have any other questions ask me first because I might know.

    Gary

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Cupertino, California
    Posts
    2,130

    Default

    Yes, it does suck to put it nicely...

    Do you know a good source to get a heatsink for the Amps?
    CLICKY!!!

    Admin: In the immortal words of Captain Planet: YOU HAVE THE POWER
    Admin: (To quit being a bitch)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Pflugerville, TX, USA
    Posts
    1,977

    Default

    I just bolted mine down to my aluminum plate and that takes care of it. That way they are standing straight up and you have easy access to the trimmer pots.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •