Thread: Laser scanner tutorial?

Default Laser scanner tutorial?

Hey guy
    im new to the world of laser scanners, just wanted to know if anyone has or knows of a tutorial on how to put a scanner together. I want to order a basic galvo set from laser show parts dot com, the 20kpps set and a 50mw laser from CNI, but i have no idea how to put it all together. Any help would be most welcome.

id be very interested in something like this too
    After buying prebuilt lasers i now want to experiment on my own!

Is there a specific way to build them or are most of the parts just plug and play apart from making a chassis to mount everything too

Also how do i connect a FB3 to a set of DMX galvos?

Quote Originally Posted by SpyroS View Post
    I want to order a basic galvo set from laser show parts dot com, the 20kpps set and a 50mw laser from CNI, but i have no idea how to put it all together.
    What controller are you going to use to drive those scanners?

The setup is fairly straightforward. You connect the X+, X-, and ground connections on your controller to the X+, X-, and ground inputs on the scanner amp. You do the same thing for the Y scanner amp.

If the scanners don't support differential inputs (they only have an X+ and a ground input on the amp), then you only connect those signals and leave the X- connection alone. Same thing goes for the case when your controller doesn't support differential signals.

You also need to connect the blanking line on the laser to the intensity output on your controller. Since you only have a single laser, you don't want to use the green blanking output; if you do you'll only see the lines in the frame that were supposed to be green. By using the intensity output the laser will be on any time there is a visible point (or line) in the frame.

Follow the guidelines for the ILDA connector and you'll be all set. (here's a link)

Here are a few more links you may find useful:

http://www.laserfx.com/Works/Works3S.html