Thread: Galvo's

Default Galvo's

Some may have read my report on my recent idiotic test of whether a galvo mirror can stand being hit with a screwdriver... (the answer by the way is NO in a big way).
    This means of course I have to buy another and have that one fixed (back in China !!) in due course.

That set me thinking there are a number of galvo options on the market. There is of course (and probably more).

DT40- Pros - China
    The ones marketed by LaserShow parts - China
    The 6800 .. industry standard it would seem. - USA
    Eye magic - Europe
    Infinity
    etc etc

I have been using so far (my only experience of galvos) the DT-40 Pros from Jian and at $550.00 US$ per set complete they seem to me to work well.... caution: I am no expert its just the sign above that says Senior Member.

I know the LaserShowParts units are getting good recognition at around $850.00 Aus $. Bill from Pangolin has indicated he expects good things from them.

Here is my question... what if any advantages are there in using one of the big names like the Cambridge 6800 or their higher speed version.
    These are in the $1700.00 US$ and up bracket, are they really that much "better" ?? and if so what is it that makes that so. Can you actually SEE the difference or is it in the engineering and longevity that it counts.

One could say you could get three sets of the DT-40's ( or similar) for the money for one set of 6800's !!!

Is this (6800) factually a much superior device or is it like owning a BMW or Mercedez its just neat to have one..

What are your thoughts on this ?
    Does anyone have a set of 6800's and a set of Chinese "copies" to get a fair output and life test comparison ?

Anyway appreciate your thoughts on this.

Cheers

Ray

NZ

Hi Ray,

You may be able to fix your broken mirror problem very easily. Please post a picture, and then I will tell you what to do (or Buffo or Allthat will tell you my trick).