Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Toroidal Transformers

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Toronto Canada
    Posts
    1,120

    Default Toroidal Transformers

    Anyone have any source of them. My local shops don't carry anything like that. I need 110V to 2 separate 24V 2Amper lines. (Powering galvos) It has to be about 1/2 inch thick.

    Thanx.
    I hired an Italian guy to do my wires. Now they look like spaghetti!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Rotorua New Zealand
    Posts
    528

    Default

    HI,

    Down here we would call like, Farnell or Radio Spares. Do you have such in Canada ??

    I do have one idea for you though, there is a major Amplifier manufacturer in Canada called Yorkville..
    You can get them on WWW.yorkville.com .

    They use all sorts of tranny's . They may well have one that suits your needs or will I am sure be able to put you on to a supplier.

    Cheers

    Ray
    NZ

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Toronto Canada
    Posts
    1,120

    Default

    I just actually found one near me
    http://www.hammondmfg.com/

    Also they are everywhere including Australia. I used their transformers before and they are not made in China

    They have a big line of Toroids
    http://www.hammondmfg.com/182.htm
    I hired an Italian guy to do my wires. Now they look like spaghetti!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    3,677

    Default

    Why don't you just use a switchmode?

    Much lighter
    KVANT Australian projector sales
    https://www.facebook.com/kvantaus/

    Lasershowparts- Laser Parts at great prices
    https://www.facebook.com/lasershowparts/

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Toronto Canada
    Posts
    1,120

    Default

    The main transformer powering my glavos is designed for 220V AC to 2x24V AC I need 110V AC to 2x24V AC.
    I hired an Italian guy to do my wires. Now they look like spaghetti!

  6. #6

    Default

    Most switchers have 'universal' input that can take anything from the Japanese 100VAC to 265VAC. Not sure why so high, but it's good protection. Some go as low as 90. Older ones had a discontinuous range, you still had to change a selector, but most new ones seem to work on anything between 90 and 265, according to basic specs I've seen with them.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Toronto Canada
    Posts
    1,120

    Default

    It's an older model. I already converted one of my galvo set to 110 by using 2 24V transformers. It's a second one. There is no selectors..No impulse Power supply. it's just plain 18V AC to diode bridge.

    Ohhhh it's monday and I'm drunk....not 24V...18V..
    Last edited by Dr Laser; 11-19-2007 at 12:32.
    I hired an Italian guy to do my wires. Now they look like spaghetti!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •