Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Reverse scanner direction

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    East Sussex, England
    Posts
    5,135

    Default Reverse scanner direction

    I'm in the process of tuning my scanners now that my FB3 has arrived. What i've just discovered is that although they are saupposed to be the same units, one has the image flipped on both X and Y axis with no switch option to change it. Now obviously I could switch it in the software but that effects both sets of scanners.

    Is it possible to reverse one or both galvos orientation, or is it the same as with stepper motors, that its not a simple case of just switching polarity?

    The scanners in question are these

    http://www.lasershowparts.com/files/.../SCANECO10.pdf

    Can anyone explain what the X-Gnd-Y and +15v-Gnd--15v connectors on the scanner board do? Even if i could switch both galvos orientation i could at least run with a mirror image in the Y axis which is what i would want anyway.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    799

    Default

    If you find that an axis is inverted all you need to do is switch X+ for X- (and/or Y+ for Y-) on the ILDA connector. That will invert your axis.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Rotorua New Zealand
    Posts
    528

    Default

    Hi.. What sort of scanners ??

    If you have DT40-pros there are two little jumpers on the board just by the input pins you just turn them around on the one that you want to alter... maybethis is similar on some other units as well.

    or do as suggested by Tocket and just wire the other way around .. you can even fit a switch so you can change it to suit for dual setups.

    Cheers

    Ray
    NZ

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    St. Louis, MO - US
    Posts
    83

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Pitts
    Hi.. What sort of scanners ??
    Hi Ray,

    I looked at the PDF from the URL he attached and they are Scaneco10...10-12kpps scanners.

    They look almost identical if not identical to the ones I have in my F2000-S projector from Bigdipper. I think it was based off a Cambridge design. The scanner amplifier has a three pin connector for X-Y (X/G/Y) (G) being ground.

    The board design and component layout looks just like mine, except his board is red, mine is blue.


    Phil

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    3,693

    Default

    or just flip in the projection zone setup in LiveQ or whatever

    KVANT Australian projector sales
    https://www.facebook.com/kvantaus/

    Lasershowparts- Laser Parts at great prices
    https://www.facebook.com/lasershowparts/

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    3,693

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tocket View Post
    If you find that an axis is inverted all you need to do is switch X+ for X- (and/or Y+ for Y-) on the ILDA connector. That will invert your axis.
    Exactly, since these scanners are single ended
    KVANT Australian projector sales
    https://www.facebook.com/kvantaus/

    Lasershowparts- Laser Parts at great prices
    https://www.facebook.com/lasershowparts/

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    East Sussex, England
    Posts
    5,135

    Default

    Ok, thanks for the suggestions.

    Obviously the option to flip in the software will not be feasible as this will effect all my other projectors on the same output.

    So if i simply switch the +/- of the relevant axis on the ilda socket in the projector this should fix it? Makes sense now i think about it.

    Can anyone give me a link to a pinout for the 25pin d-sub please so i can identify them. I thought that it was possible to run with just 4 wires to an ilda connector, X,Y,blank and common grnd. How would that work?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    St. Louis, MO - US
    Posts
    83

    Default

    DB-25 Connector Pinouts

    Pin Number Signal Name
    1 X+
    2 Y+
    3 Intensity +
    4 Interlock A
    5 R+
    6 G+
    7 B+
    8 User-defined signal 1+
    9 User-defined signal 2+
    10 User-defined signal 3+
    11 User-defined signal 4+
    12 Projector return signal
    13 Shutter
    14 X-
    15 Y-
    16 Intensity -
    17 Interlock B
    18 R-
    19 G-
    20 B-
    21 User-defined signal 1-
    22 User-defined signal 2-
    23 User-defined signal 3-
    24 User-defined signal 4-
    25 Ground

    ILDA Connector on the back of the projector should be male - when facing the connector (viewing the pins) the numbering is, from the top left (1) through (13) then the bottom row is (14) through (25) as seen in the photo below.


    URL for pinouts on Pangolin's page (same pinouts as above) http://www.pangolin.com/LD2000/qm2000pinouts.htm



    Keep in mind, when soldering a connector together - viewed from the back, the pin orientation will be (13 - 1) and (25 - 14).
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails dsub25m.jpg  

    Last edited by godfrey; 03-14-2008 at 04:00.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    3,693

    Default

    You certainly dont tie the - outputs together!

    With color signals, the - can be tied to ground if you are driving single ended inputs, however with scanner signals driving single ended inputs, the unused output usually stays unconnected...
    KVANT Australian projector sales
    https://www.facebook.com/kvantaus/

    Lasershowparts- Laser Parts at great prices
    https://www.facebook.com/lasershowparts/

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    St. Louis, MO - US
    Posts
    83

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dave View Post
    You certainly dont tie the - outputs together!

    With color signals, the - can be tied to ground if you are driving single ended inputs, however with scanner signals driving single ended inputs, the unused output usually stays unconnected...
    Right - I wasn't think that - haven't had my morning coffee yet.


    So then, hows it supposed to work? There are only three wires on the scanner amp. Aside from pins 1 and 2 - where does the third wire go?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •