Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Electronics "Expert" Required

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    249

    Default Electronics "Expert" Required

    Not laser related in any way!

    If there is anyone out there that has some spare time / would be interested in a little electronics project for me...

    Basics of the project :

    Ethernet network link for PC remote control

    Using PC / network to control 20 power output ports (To turn them on / off)

    The aim :

    To remotely be able to turn equipment on / off (Over 20 - 22 ports, total draw not to exceed 8 - 10 amps @ 220 - 240v per port)

    Pref someone I can IM / Skype to discuss project details. (Or ring if you’re in the UK!)

    Thanks,
    Last edited by Aidan; 04-07-2008 at 04:59.
    Regards,

    Aidan

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Brooklyn NYC
    Posts
    784

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    249

    Default

    I think I should add...

    I know there are lots of commercially available products but they are about £500 ($1000) for per bar.

    And i need 12+ of them!

    My crazy idea was to mod a standard PDU : Image Here

    to do the above.

    The standard PDUs are about £50 ($100), the idea being to "mod" one to do the job for an extra £150 ($300)

    If Iím crazy, just say...
    Regards,

    Aidan

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Brooklyn NYC
    Posts
    784

    Default

    no some of them are only like $200 or less

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    249

    Default

    Ummm I think at that price they would be "standard PDUs" IE they have no switching control.

    If im wrong, please point me in the right direction!
    Regards,

    Aidan

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Brooklyn NYC
    Posts
    784

    Default

    http://www.dataprobe.com/products/po...tac/index.html

    somthing like this should work its $275
    but i know i have seen cheaper ones in the past

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    249

    Default

    The unit you linked to is single port.

    I use 20 port vertical units : Here
    Regards,

    Aidan

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Brooklyn NYC
    Posts
    784

    Default

    do you need independent control of each device ??

    if not just plug a power strip into it from what i can see it can handle up to 12amps at 110v and 10 amps at 220v

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    249

    Default

    Yes, each port needs to be controlled separately.

    (Its a rack of servers)
    Regards,

    Aidan

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Brooklyn NYC
    Posts
    784

    Default

    well then its going to be a lot i would think that its going to be even more to have something made

    forget about the design cost just in the build its going to cost like $200-$300 for the bare pc board in tooling cost plus parts and build time for a small run its going to be cost prohibitive and this is based on having the work done in china
    unless you are going to but a lot of them its not worth building something like this

    also it wont be UL or CE certified

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •