Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: Looking for a cheap DAC/Software

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Anaheim, CA
    Posts
    387

    Default Looking for a cheap DAC/Software

    Hello everyone, I've had my green laser projector with a while, but I have only been using it with a DMX board, even though I have an ILDA port. I'm just doing this as a hobby, and am not very knowledgeable about the hardware and software. I know a lot of people are doing the LASERBOY DAC, but I don't think I have the abilities to make one, I have no soldering experience and very little circuit/hardware experience. Are there are decently priced ones that you would suggest? I know people have suggested Mamba on here before..

    Any suggestions and links will be appreciated.
    - instinct

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    4,585

    Default

    Pangolin's FB3

    Just type 'FB3' into the search box and hit the 'Enter' key.
    Quote: "There is a theory which states that if ever, for any reason, anyone discovers what exactly the Universe is for and why it is here it will instantly disappear and be replaced by something even more bizarre and inexplicable. There is another that states that this has already happened.... Douglas Adams 1952 - 2001

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Knoxville, TN, USA
    Posts
    3,150

    Default

    I second the Pangolin FB3 - great card and an AWESOME suite of FREE software applications available from Pangolin for registered FB3 owners!!
    RR

    Metrologic HeNe 3.3mw Modulated laser, 2 Radio Shack motors, and a broken mirror.
    1979.
    Sweet.....

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Pflugerville, TX, USA
    Posts
    1,977

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by instinct View Post
    I know a lot of people are doing the LASERBOY DAC, but I don't think I have the abilities to make one, I have no soldering experience and very little circuit/hardware experience.
    I'm sure you can do it. You might have to ask for a little help but I'm sure you can get it done if you make an effort. You'll save yourself at least $400 if you do.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Akron, Ohio USA
    Posts
    1,754

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by carmangary View Post
    I'm sure you can do it. You might have to ask for a little help but I'm sure you can get it done if you make an effort. You'll save yourself at least $400 if you do.
    I will certainly offer any help I can!

    I'm trying to get a kit together. Once we have a printed circuit board, it's super easy to put one together. I plan on selling them pre-built or as a kit.

    Pretty soon there should be LOTS of pictures from a number of different PL members!

    James.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Pflugerville, TX, USA
    Posts
    1,977

    Default

    Is anyone working on a printed circuit board? I'll definitely buy one.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Posts
    2,334

    Default

    Yes, I'm drawing up a quick one for SELEM that is only the amp board (you connect it to a card of your choice). Future work includes everything on one board.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Akron, Ohio USA
    Posts
    1,754

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by drlava View Post
    Yes, I'm drawing up a quick one for SELEM that is only the amp board (you connect it to a card of your choice). Future work includes everything on one board.
    We are...

    James.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Pflugerville, TX, USA
    Posts
    1,977

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by drlava View Post
    Yes, I'm drawing up a quick one for SELEM that is only the amp board (you connect it to a card of your choice). Future work includes everything on one board.
    Sounds great. Will the first board just be only single ended output? If you could add room those chips that convert single to balanced outputs that would be awesome. Will the second board contain the sound card components as well?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Posts
    2,334

    Default

    no balanced outputs on this first one. It's just a quick kit to get some out there. For scanners that allow balanced input, it's easy to turn up the amp gain without affecting tuning, so it works fine for short runs.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •