Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23

Thread: projector cabling help

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Essex, UK
    Posts
    8,647

    Default projector cabling help

    ok at the uk meet a few people had very long cables so they could use their projector at some distance.

    could someone explain in the ins and outs??

    is it cat5 cable??

    does the cable run between dac and pc or dac and projector?

    how do you convert parallel poprt or usb to cat5 cable??

    thanks
    Eat Sleep Lase Repeat

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Lancashire UK
    Posts
    1,379

    Default

    As you know i have a very long one

    quite a few people commented at the meet how big it was ...

    and my cable is also long ... someone inquired if i was controlling my laser from the pub down the road.... ok its 150M long thats about 500ft

    the cable is 2 cables strapped together

    the first is a standard black Mains 3 core cable with an XLR connector on each end ..... this is used for the safety shutter / estop interlock

    the other cable is a CAT5 cable but with a difference, it uses stranded conductors ( not solid core copper ) so it is flexible and contains 8 pairs of cables that are twisted .... as i use the ballanced output, the twisting of each pair helps common mode noise rejection ... also each pair is foil screened and then there is an overall copper braid screen this helps prevent electrical noise pickup .....

    and it works ..... i have used it over 100m and ran it alongside heavy power cables without any pickup on the scanners what so ever

    this cable is wired as a standard ilda cable and goes between the Dac and the projector

    hope this helps

    KArl

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Essex, UK
    Posts
    8,647

    Default

    you were just the person i was hoping would reply, i did notice the length of yours!

    yes big time helped.

    but how do you wire it to the dac and projector???

    how do you convert 25 pins down to 8????

    so im guessing this cat5 wire is expensive??
    Eat Sleep Lase Repeat

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Lancashire UK
    Posts
    1,379

    Default

    its not that expensive .... and a fraction of the cost of muticore ballanced line Audio cable

    i got mine from RS

    im just using 5 pairs

    pair 1 X +/-
    pair 2 Y +/-
    pair 3 red +/-
    pair 4 Geen +/-
    pair 5 Blue +/-

    there is no reason why you cant use another pair for the interlock etc

    also mark ( insanity ) had a long cable .... he said he bought it direct from laserworld


    all the best ... Karl

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Essex, UK
    Posts
    8,647

    Default

    what am i missing???

    isnt cat5 8 wires??

    and
    pair 1 X +/-
    pair 2 Y +/-
    pair 3 red +/-
    pair 4 Geen +/-
    pair 5 Blue +/-

    is 10???
    Eat Sleep Lase Repeat

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Herts, UK
    Posts
    1,254

    Default

    Andy, cat5 is not expensive and you can get ready made sheilded 20m cables for under a tenner here and use these and these DB25 - RJ45 adapters. You can also pick up a couple of these RJ45 couplers to extend the cable run.

    If you're running an RGB with a single ended controller, you can just about get away with one cable as they have 8 cores and you need a minimum of 7 -

    X+
    Y+
    R
    G
    B
    Shutter
    Ground

    One day you may even have one as big as Karls...

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Essex, UK
    Posts
    8,647

    Default

    excellent, thanks for that simon. im looking into doing this as everyone else is and it seems the think to do for shows
    Eat Sleep Lase Repeat

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Lancashire UK
    Posts
    1,379

    Default

    andy said ...
    isnt cat5 8 wires??
    sorry i should have said i have 2 cat5 cables strapped to the mains cable


    Karl

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Essex, UK
    Posts
    8,647

    Default

    ah that makes sense now

    thanks
    Eat Sleep Lase Repeat

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Eugene Oregon
    Posts
    952

    Default

    for usb dacs cant you use the cat5 to usb cables?


    this was talked about before when people were trying to go wireless


    if you use those cant you leave the dac inside the projector?
    -Josh

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •