Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Help faulty silverray RGB laser

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Essex, UK
    Posts
    8,647

    Default Help faulty silverray RGB laser

    a guy contacted me via my site, with a faulty silverray laser.

    he had the system for two months and said the galvos had gone pop. cannot get a response from silverray, so he brought it round and i have it here with me.

    the galvo amp was busted



    ive fitted some new 50k laserworld scanners, bit of a sod to wire up but its all done. when i power on the system i believe the scanners to be working as the click into place (mirrors move)

    but i cannto get the thing to do anything, only the red lasers comes on and stays on and the galvos dont move.

    anyone offer any help at all?

    it has a dmx in the system that the ilda cable goes into.





    you can see from the dmx it has other connectors, but on the original amps only the 15v one was connected to the scanners.

    Eat Sleep Lase Repeat

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    3,702

    Default

    Looks like you will need to derive the +/-15v from the laserworld scanners..

    Why didn't you just replace the burnt component? What were the markings on it?
    KVANT Australian projector sales
    https://www.facebook.com/kvantaus/

    Lasershowparts- Laser Parts at great prices
    https://www.facebook.com/lasershowparts/

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Essex, UK
    Posts
    8,647

    Default

    cos i was given the scanner with a set of 50k laserworld scanner and asked to put them in. which i have done.

    but looks like the green laser is gone and the dmx is also gone
    Eat Sleep Lase Repeat

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Posts
    45

    Default

    Well the scanamp has it's obvious problem, But there are two other problems. It could be a spike killed the others, but I'd check the power supplies first. When in doubt:
    fix or remove the things you know are bad
    i.e. get the bad scanamp out of circuit
    remove the things you aren't sure are good
    i.e. disconnect the green laser and or the dmx...
    consider the real posibility that randomly swapping in good parts will damage the good parts - I used to work on a Siemens 9 track tape drive that was a monster that way.

    brian

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Essex, UK
    Posts
    8,647

    Default

    the green lase psu is dead and the dmx seems to do nothing.

    so both are coming out. gona have to rewire the whole lot and wire it up for ilda
    Eat Sleep Lase Repeat

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Essex, UK
    Posts
    8,647

    Default

    ok i no why things arent working.

    ive been givin some duff info by the guy.

    anyone know where the 15v for the dmx power would come from?




    1 - is psu for fans, the fans are 12v. i tested the psu with a power meter and it went from 15v down to 9, then back up to 15v. could this be the psu for the dmx board?

    2 - is psu for green laser
    3 - is psu for scanners outputting 24v
    4 - is psu for red module
    5 - is psu for the blue psu i belive
    6 - is under the metal place and is su for blue laser

    Eat Sleep Lase Repeat

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Essex, UK
    Posts
    8,647

    Default

    anyone know the correct way to wire this psu to this dmx?

    on the psu ive got + and ground on the DMX there +, - and ground

    Eat Sleep Lase Repeat

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    North Iowa
    Posts
    249

    Default

    That appears to be a single output supply. I don't see a -V on it. Could they have run it without -V ? The mirrors would have no negative movement. I don't know how the amps would bias correctly however.
    Man -- That thing is a rat's nest of wires.

    Mike

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Essex, UK
    Posts
    8,647

    Default

    ive had to take the dmx out.

    the original galvo amp had a 15v output the new ones dont.
    Eat Sleep Lase Repeat

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    South Lincs, UK
    Posts
    2,624

    Default

    It's exactly the same as mine Andy. When I fitted my LW-50K's into mine I had to add a small +15/-15V PSU (I used one of norm's ones off of EBay) to power the DMX board because it derived it's power form the old scanner boards.

    The DMX board and scanners are made by Spacelas Andy and details are on their website about them.

    I have had to replace my DMX board as it went pop on me for no reason.

    Matey at Silverrays number is: 07816995837.

    Hope this helps.
    If you want to ring me then: 07751222746

    Jim
    --------------------
    My Brain urt's!

    Continuously in Awe! of (H)Al, the Photonlexicon Font of Complete Knowledge - The (H)Al'PL Database of complete puss that no one needs to know or ever trusts as he ain't really got a Scooby doo about now't!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •