Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: 15w laserhead with low beam power

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    romania
    Posts
    3

    Default 15w laserhead with low beam power

    I have a laser Spectra- physics 2000 series Water cooled and 2540 power supply built for 208 volt trifazic
    I have not a 380/208v transformer but i have made some changes in power supply for work on single-phase 220v
    My laser started, but the output power power is 1.2 w 1w ...However consume somewhere at 50 amps
    She knows someone who may be defective? What measurements should I do?
    Here we have some pictures
    Thank you for any help!
    http://89.32.222.4/mazeri/a.JPG
    http://89.32.222.4/mazeri/b.JPG
    http://89.32.222.4/mazeri/c.JPG
    http://89.32.222.4/mazeri/d.JPG
    http://89.32.222.4/mazeri/e.JPG
    http://89.32.222.4/mazeri/f.JPG
    http://89.32.222.4/mazeri/g.JPG
    http://89.32.222.4/mazeri/h.JPG
    http://89.32.222.4/mazeri/i.JPG
    http://89.32.222.4/mazeri/j.JPG
    http://89.32.222.4/mazeri/k.JPG
    Last edited by ady; 09-08-2008 at 22:08.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Lancashire UK
    Posts
    1,379

    Default

    Hi Ady
    and welcome to PL

    Im no expert on gas lasers but quite a few people here are and may be able to help

    can you fill in your profile so we know where your based etc ....

    my inital guess by looking at the power strip was you are in the states ... but then you are talking about 220v single phase so im guessing you are austrailia area or asia
    nope i take that back they are european plugs so i tninks you are closer to us

    by the way ... Nice bins

    im guessing that you make PA bins etc ...

    but word of warning from experience MDF dust and laser optics dont get on well together .... a couple of years ago my buddy decided to saw up wood right next to my projector chassis .... took me weeks to clean it out

    all the best ... Karl
    Last edited by Banthai; 09-09-2008 at 11:14.

  3. #3
    mixedgas's Avatar
    mixedgas is online now Creaky Old Award Winning Bastard Technologist
    Infinitus Excellentia Ion Laser Dominatus
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    A lab with some dripping water on the floor.
    Posts
    9,506

    Default

    Thats a 20XX series laser, probably a 2016. 50 amps is not good, as lifetime is inversely proportional to current on those tubes. You have a sealed mirror tube, with the output mirrors on bellows to make it alignable. There is NO optics cleaning etc. So if you have the correct gas pressure and the optics adjusted correctly, what you get is what you get.

    take pictures of the high reflector and output coupler ends of the tube so we can see what adjustments you have for mirror position and we'll go from there.

    It looks like a 2016 head.

    btw, if the danger sticker says 15 watts, that is 2 - 3 times what the tube is designed for as a safety factor. I think you have a 5 watt 2016 laser. Your welcome to prove me wrong. you did fix the cooling hoses before running yes?

    Steve Roberts
    Last edited by mixedgas; 09-09-2008 at 09:52.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    romania
    Posts
    3

    Default New pictures

    I am from Romania
    I do not think the 48 amps on a single phase is too big a current
    I understand that this model consumes 42amp per phase @ 208 Volt phase of 3 phases ..
    http://89.32.222.4/laser/DSCN3139.JPG
    http://89.32.222.4/laser/DSCN3140.JPG
    http://89.32.222.4/laser/DSCN3141.JPG
    http://89.32.222.4/laser/DSCN3142.JPG
    http://89.32.222.4/laser/DSCN3143.JPG
    http://89.32.222.4/laser/DSCN3144.JPG
    http://89.32.222.4/laser/DSCN3145.JPG
    http://89.32.222.4/laser/DSCN3146.JPG
    I made some adjustments to external mirrors on the head and laser color changed from green to blue in I do not know exactly how, the beam power has decreased from 1.6 to 1.2 w
    I've found a problem If you reduce the power under 1 w laser dies and no longer lights until after again get power over 1 w
    Cooling system is functional and laser does not start with deficiencies Cooling
    How can see pictures and there are a flow detector and an additional overheat sensor which cut the power of the system if the water flow is too low or temperature too high
    On the same electric circuit are connected and the case opened switch (laser case and power supply case)
    Last edited by ady; 09-10-2008 at 00:16.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    321

    Default

    That's a sealed mirror tube, so not much can be done beyond walking the mirrors. If the solenoid current is OK, it's perhaps in need of gas ... or barium
    Piotr.K
    Last edited by LesioQ; 09-10-2008 at 06:11.

  6. #6
    mixedgas's Avatar
    mixedgas is online now Creaky Old Award Winning Bastard Technologist
    Infinitus Excellentia Ion Laser Dominatus
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    A lab with some dripping water on the floor.
    Posts
    9,506

    Default

    48 amps of power line draw, ie max power is capable of killing the tube from over stress from heat and ion bombardment inside the plasma tube. The tube usually only needs about 30 amps DC maximum in the arc and usually much less then that. What arc current are you running at ? Too much will quickly shorten the life of the tube if not kill it. You need to walk the mirrors, if you have any life left in the tube at all. You have a miss aligned resonator, that needs adjusted, and if it has not been damaged by the overcurrent and old age. That is the change from green to blue, the optics are not adjusted for peak power and only the higher gain blue line is lasing.

    We need to know the tube voltage vs current curve to help you further.


    see " walking the mirrors" in the ion laser chapter of Sam's Laser Faq.

    As for the laser "winking" out, are you using constant current mode or constant light. If you are in constant light (usually spectra labels that POWER or PWR) and the tube is missaligned, the current will go up until the overcurrent trip point in the psu occurs. use constant current mode while adjusting.

    keep the amount of adjustments you do on a sealed bellows tube small, or you will break the vacuum seal.


    Steve
    Last edited by mixedgas; 09-10-2008 at 06:12.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    romania
    Posts
    3

    Default

    id some measurements and conclusions here
    the arc voltage appears to be 3.7 ... 4vac
    Operating voltage is 190vdc
    there is another 2 litles wires that get in the laserhead with 220vdc (do not know what they use)
    To measure the power tube I need a special device that does not have it right now
    Last edited by ady; 09-13-2008 at 07:09.

  8. #8
    mixedgas's Avatar
    mixedgas is online now Creaky Old Award Winning Bastard Technologist
    Infinitus Excellentia Ion Laser Dominatus
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    A lab with some dripping water on the floor.
    Posts
    9,506

    Default

    3.7 = 4 vac seems like a cathode voltage.

    here is what I want you to do.

    start the laser. With another person in the room for your own safety, measure the voltage from either of the cathode leads to the anode leads, should be some place around 200 V dc. do this at as many currents as possible. Use a battery powered voltemeter, DO NOT USE one that is powered by the power line. Do not leave the voltmeter across the tube , the ignite pulse will destroy the voltmeter each time the tube fires. So you you start the tube, take a reading, change the current take a reading etc. Do this at as many currents as you can so I can plot a graph.

    Steve

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    678

    Default

    i wonder how he went with this.

    he's gone quiet - maybe he zapped himself ?
    Now proudly stocking and offering the best deals on laser-wave

    www.lasershowparts.com
    http://stores.ebay.com.au/Lasershow-Parts

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    1 hr from everything in SoCal
    Posts
    2,605

    Default Prisim

    He said the output changed to blue when he adjusted it. Is it possible that he has a prisim on the high reflector for selecting lines? I remember a few of those on the rear waveplate. We used to pull those off and put multi-line multi-mode optics on for more power. But then again, you said this was sealed.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •