Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 29

Thread: Cheap Emergency Stop

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    5,704

    Default Cheap Emergency Stop

    Thought I'd post this up for anyone who's thinking of one but concerned about the cost:

    Details below but pic of my completed cable:




    My local electrical wholesaler wanted 37.50 + VAT (sales tax) just for an emergency stop switch.

    Bit of hunting around and I got an Italian made switch off ebay complete with casing - brand new and CE compliant for 11.00 from an electrical retailer. From a local shop (bit like Maplins) a replacement plug for the one Laserworld soldered internally for 1, 50p for 2 grommets and 7.50 for 15 (generous) metres of 2 core cable (believe me its generous with the switch in the dining room at the back of the house right by the back window, it goes across the dining room, out through the kitchen, down the hall, up the stairs, across the landing, into the front bedroom and still has slack to plug into the laser in there!!!!! I haven't measured it but in a sizeable 3 bed house, thats a generous 15m!

    Total cost: 20 for the lot.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Freiburg, Germany
    Posts
    124

    Default

    nice going

    can u give us links for the parts/suppliers

    http://inselaffe.org

    http://www.myspace.com/majorleeblunt

    An Eye for a Eye only makes the World Blind - Ghandi

    Laserworld 750mW Proline RGB
    Laserworld Quad 400mW RG
    Lanta 180mW RGY

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Eugene Oregon
    Posts
    952

    Default

    very nice! good find!
    -Josh

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    5,704

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by majorlee View Post
    nice going

    can u give us links for the parts/suppliers


    Emergency Stop Button: http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Enclosed-Emerg...d=p3911.c0.m14


    9 pin Projector plug (actually some type of pc plug I think - to fit Laserworld RS - other manufacturers may use other plugs): http://www.bardwells.co.uk/detail.as...%26maxprice%3D

    Projector plug casing: http://www.bardwells.co.uk/detail.as...%26maxprice%3D

    (Sorry guys looks like you have to buy them in twos online but only cheap anyway - less than 1 even for 2)

    Can't find the grommets online but if buying other stuff, I'm sure they'd supply them if asked. Basically I got one small enough to fit into the neck of the Projector Plug so as to stop rubbing on the cable - sure they could supply if you were to ask. It was a tight squeeze with the strain relief fitted as well (metal clip to stop cable pulling through), but it just fits with a bit of poking with a screwdriver. I actually bought 2 but the emergency stop comes with a rubber grommet pre-fitted.

    The grommet itself has a wide groove inset into the side so as to accomodate the case width. I've put a picture up with some other objects to aid scale - for UK buyers there's a penny coin (1p). For overseas buyers not familiar with the 1p, there's a red size bullet connector. The metal end of the male red bullet connector just fits through the central hole of the grommet to give a further idea of size (loose fit).

    Grommet:




    Can't see the cable online either but it was a flat black 2 core cable that was a very tight squeeze into the projector plug (really had to twist the ends down with pliers / lose the odd strand). However better than a thinner cable in my opinion as its makes it tougher. I soldered the cable when in place.

    The cable is labelled (impressed not stamped) Samson VDE BSS500 HD3VVH2-F and conductor size is labelled as 2 x .075. Its flat black.

    I'm sure they will remember what I bought as I told the guy what I wanted it for and 600mw produced some unrepeatebale words and a very worried look on his face! I think they're used to 5mw customers!
    Last edited by White-Light; 09-17-2008 at 05:22.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    denver,co
    Posts
    1,078

    Default

    For those in the us these are cheap and nice..

    Chad

    http://web5.automationdirect.com/adc...ations/E22LB2B


    When the going gets weird, the weird turn pro.


  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Freiburg, Germany
    Posts
    124

    Default

    thanx for the links - will look into it!

    so just thinking about it...

    how would you start the laser again? would u need to go to the unit itself? if its installed up high and its in the middle of a gig it might be impossible to get it started again

    how does this work exactly?
    http://inselaffe.org

    http://www.myspace.com/majorleeblunt

    An Eye for a Eye only makes the World Blind - Ghandi

    Laserworld 750mW Proline RGB
    Laserworld Quad 400mW RG
    Lanta 180mW RGY

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    5,704

    Default

    The laser would start as normal with it fitted.

    The emergency stop switch's contacts are NC (normally closed) so when fitted unactivated theres a complete circuit so the laser will start from the key switch as normal. Its exactly the same as putting the standard supplied projector plug in thats got the internally soldered pins.

    The only difference is that when the emergency stop switch is pressed the contacts open and break the circuit thus turning the laser off.

    You could use it to remotely start the laser but if doing this you might want to fit a small keyswitch into the stop button casing so as to stop anyone from resetting the button whilst you are at the projector. In fact that might not be such a bad idea anyway if you are using it with other people around. All you need to do is put the key switch in line with one of the wires going to the stop switch.

    Maplin sell minature key switches for around 2.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    5,704

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by chad View Post
    For those in the us these are cheap and nice..

    Chad

    http://web5.automationdirect.com/adc...ations/E22LB2B
    That switch won't work as it has momentary contacts only ie it doesn't latch so once you release your hand from it, its back live.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    South Lincs, UK
    Posts
    2,625

    Default

    UK electrical regs say an emergency stop is not to reactivate whatever it stops unless you activate a seperate reset button - or to that effect anyway

    Either it be used with a purpose made safety relay or with a standard relay and latch circuit.
    --------------------
    My Brain urt's!

    Continuously in Awe! of (H)Al, the Photonlexicon Font of Complete Knowledge - The (H)Al'PL Database of complete puss that no one needs to know or ever trusts as he ain't really got a Scooby doo about now't!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    5,704

    Default

    The one I've got complies with CE regulations which makes it legal for UK use. To reset it, you have to twist the top in the direction of the arrows and then press. Just pressing doesn't work.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •